Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on December 13th, 2022

Toronto Maple Leafs Kid Line 1931
L to R - Charlie Conacher, Joe Primeau, Busher Jackson

The original "Kid Line" put together by Conn Smythe late in the 1929-30 NHL season. The trio, were nicknamed the "Kid Line" for their inexperience - Primeau was 23, Conacher and Jackson both 18 became fan favourites in Toronto.

Conacher and Jackson had been teammates while playing for the Toronto Marlboros, helping them win back to back J. Ross Robertson Cup championships in 1928 and 1929 and the 1929 Memorial Cup championship, while Primeau also played for the Marlboros, but just in the 1926-27 season, a year before Conacher and Jackson played there.

The Kid Line would become famous throughout the NHL, with Conacher leading the NHL in goal scoring in 1930-31 (31), 1931-32 (34), 1933-34 (32), 1934-35 (36), 1935-36 (23).

Conacher also led the NHL in points in 1933-34 (52) and 1934-35 (57),
Jackson was NHL leader in points in 1931-32 (53).

The Kid Line finished 1, 2 and 4th in NHL scoring in the 1931-32 season, helping them win the 1932 Stanley Cup championship, with Conacher assisting on the Stanley Cup winning goal scored by Ace Bailey at the new Maple Leaf Gardens.

Joe Primeau was awarded the 1932 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy.

After retiring as a player, Conacher turned to coaching, leading the OHA Oshawa Generals to the J. Ross Robertson Cup championships in 1942, 1943, 1944, the George Richardson Memorial Trophy championships 1942, 1943, 1944 and the 1944 Memorial Cup championship. He later coached the Chicago Black Hawks for 3 seasons 1947 to 1950.

Joe Primeau also turned to coaching after retiring fro playing, leading the Toronto St. Michael's Majors to J. Ross Robertson Cup championships in 1945, 1946, 1947. George Richardson Memorial Trophy championships 1945, 1946, 1947 and 1945 and 1947 Memorial Cup championships (1946 finalist). He then coached the Toronto Marlboros to the Allan Cup Championship in 1950. Conn Smythe then signed Primeau to coach the Maple Leafs and as a rookie NHL coach, won the 1951 Stanley Cup championship. He is the ONLY coach to win the Memorial Cup, Allan Cup and Stanley Cup.

Charlie Conacher was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1961.

Joe Primeau was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1963.

Busher Jackson was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1971.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!