Hockey Gods


Western Hockey League, Pacific Coast Hockey League, Presidents Trophy, Western Canada Senior Hockey League, Lester Patrick Cup Champions, Lester Patrick Cup, New Westminster Royals History, Pacific Coast Hockey League History, San Diego Skyhawks History, Saskatoon Quakers History, The Presidents Trophy, Brandon Regals History, Vancouver Canucks History, Lester Patrick Cup History, Calgary Stampeders History, Western Canada Senior Hockey League History, Calgary Stampeders Hockey, Western Hockey League History, 1954 Calgary Stampeders, Victoria Cougars History, Portland Buckaroos History, Southern California Hockey League History, Victoria Maple Leafs History, Seattle Totems History, Southern California Hockey League, San Francisco Seals History, Phoenix Roadrunners History, Denver Spurs Hockey, 1965 Portland Buckaroos, 1966 Victoria Maple Leafs, 1951 Victoria Cougars, Edmonton Flyers History, Winnipeg Warriors History, Presidents Trophy History, 1949 San Diego Skyhawks, 1950 New Westminster Royals, 1952 Saskatoon Quakers, 1953 Edmonton Flyers, 1955 Edmonton Flyers, 1956 Winnipeg Warriors, 1957 Brandon Regals, 1958 Vancouver Canucks, 1959 Seattle Totems, 1960 Vancouver Canucks, 1961 Portland Buckaroos, 1962 Edmonton Flyers, 1963 San Francisco Seals, 1964 San Francisco Seals, 1967 Seattle Totems, 1968 Seattle Totems, 1969 Vancouver Canucks, 1970 Vancouver Canucks, 1971 Portland Buckaroos, 1972 Denver Spurs, Denver Spurs History, 1973 Phoenix Roadrunners, 1974 Phoenix Roadrunners, Northwest International Hockey League, Northwest International Hockey League History



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on January 28th, 2016

The Lester Patrick Cup was the championship trophy of the Pacific Coast Hockey League and the Western Hockey League (WHL) from 1949 to 1974. Originally known as the President's Trophy, the trophy was renamed in 1960 to honour Pacific Coast Hockey pioneer Lester Patrick following his death on June 1 of that year.

The Lester Patrick Cup was retired following the demise of the WHL, and is on display at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.

The Pacific Coast Hockey League was an ice Hockey minor league with teams in the western United States and western Canada that existed in several incarnations: from 1928 to 1931, from 1936 to 1941, and from 1944 to 1952.

The final incarnation of the league was managed by Hockey Hall of Fame member Al Leader, and grew out of combining teams from the Southern California Hockey League and the Northwest International Hockey League. The PCHL was founded as an amateur loop, partly because the National Hockey League recognized Pacific Coast Hockey Association (PCHA) founder Lester Patrick as the territorial rights holder for professional Hockey in Vancouver, Portland and Seattle. In 1948, however, the ten team league voted to turn pro, and was recognized as such by the NHL.

In 1951, having dwindled to a six team league, the PCHL merged with the Western Canada Senior Hockey League, adding three new franchises on the Canadian prairies. Following the merger of the PCHL with the Western Canada Senior Hockey League in 1951, the league renamed itself the Western Hockey League for the 1952-53 season.

The PCHL championship trophy was the President's Cup.

The championship trophy of the WHL was the Lester Patrick Cup.

1949: San Diego Skyhawks
1950: New Westminster Royals
1951: Victoria Cougars
1952: Saskatoon Quakers
1953: Edmonton Flyers
1954: Calgary Stampeders
1955: Edmonton Flyers
1956: Winnipeg Warriors
1957: Brandon Regals
1958: Vancouver Canucks
1959: Seattle Totems
1960: Vancouver Canucks
1961: Portland Buckaroos
1962: Edmonton Flyers
1963: San Francisco Seals
1964: San Francisco Seals
1965: Portland Buckaroos
1966: Victoria Maple Leafs
1967: Seattle Totems
1968: Seattle Totems
1969: Vancouver Canucks
1970: Vancouver Canucks
1971: Portland Buckaroos
1972: Denver Spurs
1973: Phoenix Roadrunners
1974: Phoenix Roadrunners


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!