Hockey Gods


Tommy Phillips, Thomas Neil Phillips, Jack Marshall, John Calder Marshall, John Calder Jack Marshall, Archie Hooper, Archibald William Hooper, Jimmy Gardner, James Henry Gardner, George Smith, Tom Hodge, Richard Robinson Dickie Boon, Dickie Boon, Richard Robinson Boon, Billy Bellingham, William Bellingham, William J Bellingham, Billy Nicholson, William Charles Nicholson, Cecil Blachford, Cecil William Blachford, H C Dewitt, H C Dewitt - Honorary Secretary Treasurer, Clarence McKerrow, Clarence Douglas McKerrow, Frank Bicherdike, Frank A C Bickerdike, Frank Bickerdike, C C Chitty, C G Chitty, Charles C Chitty, Charles Chitty, George James, Desse Browne, D Browne, Paul Lefbvre, Montreal Hockey Club, Montreal Hockey Club History, 1903 Montreal Hockey Club, Montreal Aaa, 1903 Montreal AAA, Montreal AAA Hockey, Montreal AAA History, Montreal AAA Hockey Team, Montreal Amateur Athletic Association, Montreal Amateur Athletic Association History, Montreal Amateur Athletic Association Hockey History, 1903 Montreal Amateur Athletic Association, 1903, 1903 IsHockey, 1903 Ice Hockey, 1903 Ice Hockey Champions, 1903 Hokej, 1903 Hockey, 1903 Hockey Champions, 1903 Hockey Sur Glace, 1903 EisHockey, Stanley Cup, Stanley Cup History, 1903 Stanley Cup, 1903 Stanley Cup Winners, 1903 Stanley Cup Champions, 1903 Stanley Cup Challenge, Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup, 1903 Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup, 1903 Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup Winners, 1903 Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup Champions, 1902 Ice Hockey Champions, 1902 Hockey Champions



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on May 22nd, 2017

Montreal Hockey Club / Montreal AAA 1902 - 1903
Montreal Amateur Athletic Association
Stanley Cup Champions 1902 and 1903 "February"
Canadian Amateur Hockey League Champions 1902

Team Roster
Front Row L to R - Tommy Phillips, Jack Marshall, Archie Hooper, Jimmy Gardner

Middle Row L to R - George Smith, Tom Hodge, Dickie Boon, Billy Bellingham, Billy Nicholson, Cecil Blachford

Top Row L to R - H. C. Dewitt (Honorary Secretary/Treasurer), Clarence McKerrow (Manager), Frank A C Bickerdike (Director), Charles C. Chitty (President), George James (Director), Desse Browne (Coach), Paul Lefbvre (Trainer)

The Stanley Cup trustees decided that league champions Ottawa Hockey Club would not play for the Stanley Cup until after the season. If a challenge was ordered by the Cup trustees, the Montreal Hockey Club would defend the Cup. A challenge was ordered by the Trustees and Montreal eventually agreed to play the Winnipeg Victorias in January during regular season play.

Montreal Hockey Club vs. Winnipeg Victorias best-of-three challenge series was held in early 1903.

In game one on January 29, 1903, defending champion Montreal defeated Winnipeg, 8–1.
Game two on January 31, 1903 was the first Stanley Cup challenge match to be replayed. Both teams skated to a 2–2 tie before the game had to be suspended at 27:00 of overtime because of a midnight curfew. It was then decided to discard the result and replay the game two days later. In the rescheduled contest on February 2, 1903, the Victorias won, 4–2, to even the series. However, Montreal won the decisive game three on February 4, 1903, 4–1, to retain the Stanley Cup.

Sourced from


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!