Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on May 22nd, 2017

Montreal Hockey Club Team Photo 1902

Team Roster
Front Row L to R - Charlie Liffiton, Archie Hooper, Dickie Boon, Jack Marshall

Middle Row L to R - Billy Nicholson, Tom Hodge, Harry Shaw (president), Billy Bellingham, Jimmy Gardner

Back Row L to R - Paul Lefbvre (trainer), H. C. Dewitt (secretary), John Robert Brodie, George Smith

The 1902 Canadian Amateur Hockey League (CAHL) season was the fourth season of the league. Teams played an eight game schedule. The Montreal HC were the league champion with a record of six wins and two losses.

Montreal would win the league led by their big line of Archie Hooper, Jack Marshall, Jimmy Gardner and Charlie Liffiton.

Hooper would score nine goals against the Shamrocks on January 5, on his way to winning the scoring title.

After the Montreal HC won the 1902 CAHL title in March, they promptly sent a challenge to the Winnipeg Victorias. In game one of the best-of-three series on March 13, 1902, Winnipeg shut out Montreal, 1–0. However, Montreal shut out Winnipeg in game two on March 15, 1902, 5–0, and then held on to a 2–1 victory in game three on March 17, 1902. With the victory, the Montreal Hockey Club won the Stanley Cup for the first time since 1894.

Jack Marshall of Montreal, who had played for the Winnipeg team in the previous year, faced his old team and scored three goals, including the series clincher. Archie Hooper also scored three for Montreal.

The players would earn their nickname of the 'Little Men of Iron', winning the Stanley Cup.

Sourced from


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!