Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on November 6th, 2019

Montreal Hockey Club
Montreal Amateur Athletic Association / Montreal AAA

Canadian Amateur Hockey League / CAHL Champions 1902
Stanley Cup Champions 1902

Team Roster
Front Row L to R - Charles Albert Liffiton, Archibald "Archie" William Hooper, John Calder "Jack" Marshall, James Henry "Jimmy" Gardner.

Middle Row - H. C. DeWitt (secretary), Tom G. Hodge, George Smith, Richard Robinson "Dickie" Boon, William Charles "Billy" Nicholson, William J. "Billy" Bellingham, Roland Reed Elliott.

Back Row - H. H. Andrews (executive), Charles C. Chitty (director), H. Smith, Harry L. Shaw (president), Clarence Douglas MacKerrow (coach), Allan Cameron Jr. (vice president), Paul Lefebvre (trainer).

The 1902 Canadian Amateur Hockey League (CAHL) season was the fourth season of the league. Teams played an eight game schedule. The Montreal HC were the league champion with a record of six wins and two losses.

Montreal would win the league led by their big line of Archie Hooper, Jack Marshall, Jimmy Gardner and Charlie Liffiton.

Hooper would score nine goals against the Shamrocks on January 5, on his way to winning the scoring title.

After the Montreal HC won the 1902 CAHL title in March, they promptly sent a challenge to the Winnipeg Victorias. In game one of the best-of-three series on March 13, 1902, Winnipeg shut out Montreal, 1–0. However, Montreal shut out Winnipeg in game two on March 15, 1902, 5–0, and then held on to a 2–1 victory in game three on March 17, 1902. With the victory, the Montreal Hockey Club won the Stanley Cup for the first time since 1894.

Jack Marshall of Montreal, who had played for the Winnipeg team in the previous year, faced his old team and scored three goals, including the series clincher. Archie Hooper also scored three for Montreal.

The players would earn their nickname of the 'Little Men of Iron', winning the Stanley Cup.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!