Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on November 9th, 2012

Edward William Shore (November 25, 1902 – March 16, 1985) was a Canadian Professional Ice Hockey defenceman, principally for the Boston Bruins of the National Hockey League, and the longtime owner of the Springfield Indians of the American Hockey League, iconic for his toughness and defensive skill.
Shore won the Hart Trophy as the league's most valuable player four times, the most of any defenceman, and third overall behind Wayne Gretzky and Gordie Howe. Shore was named a season-ending NHL All-Star eight of the first nine seasons that the league named such teams; the only season he failed to do so he missed over half the schedule due to injury - A bruiser known for NHL violence, Shore set a then-NHL record for 165 penalty minutes in his second season - Played on two Stanley Cup championship teams – 1928-29, 1938-39 - Named to the WHL First All-Star Team 1925-26 - Won the Hart Memorial Trophy as the NHL's Most Valuable Player in 1932–33, 1934–35, 1935–36, 1937–38 - Named to the NHL First All-Star Team in 1930-31, 1931–32, 1932–33, 1934–35, 1935–36, 1937–38, 1938-39 -Named to the NHL Second All-Star Team in 1933-34 - Won the Lester B. Patrick Award for contributions to hockey in 1970 - Inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1947 - Inducted into Canada's Sports Hall of Fame in 1975 - In 1998, he was ranked #10 on The Hockey News' list of the 100 Greatest Hockey Players - His number, 2, was retired by the Boston Bruins in 1947

Sourced from Boston Public Library. Credited to Leslie Jones.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!