Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on February 9th, 2024

Toronto Wellingtons
Toronto Wellington Hockey Club
The Iron Dukes

- J. Ross Robertson Cup Senior Champions 1900
Ontario Hockey Association / OHA Senior Champions 1900

Team Roster
Top Row - Charles "Chummy" Hill, Geordie Crawford, Worts Smart, Alex "Allie" Warden, George Chadwick, Warren Darling.

Front Row - Ted Morphy, George McKay (captain), Irv Ardagh (with dog mascot), Arthur Ardagh (honorary president), Harry "Dutchy" Morison (goalie).

The Toronto Wellingtons defeated Stratford in a 2 game total goals semi-final, winning game one 8-0 and game two 4-2, then defeated Queen's University in a 2 game total goals final, losing game one 3-1, winning game two 5-1 and the championship by 6-4 in total goals.

The J. Ross Robertson Cup, described when first presented for the 1899 winner, is of tazza form, is made of purest Canadian silver . It is lined with Canadian gold and richly decorated with bas relief of lions, masks and fells ,which stand out from the piece in high relief . A striking feature of this original cup are three leopard handles , beautifully modelled and chased. Its weight is 130 ounces. It is thirteen inches in diameter and ten in height and stands on a plinth six inches in height, which has six silver Hogarth shaped shields for inscribing the winners names.

The Toronto Wellingtons are notable for challenging for the Stanley Cup as Ontario Champions of 1902.

Harry "Dutchy" Morrison, George McKay, Worts Smart, Charles "Chummy" Hill and Irwin Ardagh would play in the 1902 Stanley Cup challenge vs Winnipeg Victorias.

Sourced from President's Collection.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!