Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on November 21st, 2013

Cliffside Hockey Team / Ottawa Cliffsides

I.A.H.U. Team Champions.1908-09
Allan Cup Champions 1909

Cliffside Hockey Club of the Ottawa Amateur Athletic Association.

Team Roster
Clockwise from top middle - Charlie McKinley, Jack Williams, Stewart Christie, Alan Powell, Coo Dion, Horace Merrill, Billy Stewart, Charlie Hall, and Norman Henry (captain) in middle.

The Interprovincial Amateur Hockey Union (IAHU) began play in January 1909 with a four-team league of the Montreal Victorias, Montreal Hockey Club, Ottawa Cliffsides and Toronto AAC. The new championship trophy for Canadian amateur teams was donated by Sir Montagu Allan, and the Ottawa Cliffsides were the first IAHU champions.

The Allan Cup was presented in Feb 1909 and Ottawa clinched the Inter-Provincial League title on Mar 6,1909 by beating the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association / Montreal Hockey Club 9 goals to 7 to win the 1st Championship for the Allan Cup

The Cliffsides played for only three seasons in the Interprovincial Amateur Hockey Union League.

The first Allan Cup was simply presented to the Ottawa Cliffsides as champion of the league they were in (the Interprovincial League), much in the same way the first Stanley Cup was 1st awarded to the Montreal AAA.

In the early days, the Allan Cup was a challenge cup, just as the Stanley Cup was, so it appears there was often more than one championship series in a year.

On Mar 15,1909 they lost the challenge to Queens University
Thus there were two winners of the Cup in 1909

March 8, 1909 Article Montreal Gazette - Cliffsides clinch Interprovincial title,622692&dq=hockey+allan-cup&hl=en

Sourced from Credited to Alfred George Pittaway / Pittaway Studio.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!