Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on June 12th, 2011

Victoria Cougars
Stanley Cup Champions 1925

Team Roster
Clem Loughlin (captain), Harold Halderson, Hap Holmes, Frank Fredrickson, Gordon Fraser, Harry Meeking, Frank Foyston, John "Jocko" Anderson, Jack Walker, Harold "Gizzy" Hart, Wally Elmer.

Coach - Lester Patrick
Trainer - Larry Brunnell

Prior to the season, the Pacific Coast Hockey Association (PCHA) folded and two of its teams, the Cougars and the Vancouver Maroons joined the WCHL. Victoria finished the 1924–25 WCHL regular season in third place, but eventually upset the Calgary Tigers in the two-game total goals WCHL championship series by a combined score of 3–1.

The Montreal Canadiens finished the NHL regular season in third place. In the NHL playoffs, Montreal went on to beat the second place Toronto St. Patricks, 5–2, in a two game total goals series. The winner of that series was to go on and play the first place Hamilton Tigers. However, the Tigers were suspended by the NHL after Hamilton players staged a strike in an attempt to receive more compensation because the league extended the regular season from 24 to 30 games. As a result, the Canadiens were declared the 1924–25 NHL champions.

The Stanley Cup championship series started on March 21, 1925 with the hometown Cougars winning 5 to 2.

Game 2 on March 23, 1925 was played in Vancouver at Denman Arena, due to a huge demand for tickets - the Cougars won 3 to 1.

Game 3 back in Victoria on March 27, 1925 had the Canadiens winning 4 to 2.

Game 4 on March 30, 1925 saw the Cougars win 6 to 1, and the Stanley Cup Championship.

NOTE: This Victoria Cougars team would be the last non NHL team to win the Stanley Cup

Sourced from


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!