Hockey Gods


No similar Images were found.


Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on June 8th, 2022

Medicine Hat Tigers
President's Cup Champions 1973
Western Canada Hockey League / WCHL

Team Roster
Lanny McDonald, Tom Lysiak, Ed Johnstone, Boyd Anderson, Ken Gassoff, Bob Gassoff, Brad Gassoff, Barry Dean, Randy Aimoe, Jim McCrimmon, Paul Granchukoff, Murray Worley, Dick Jellema, Bryan Maxwell, Greg Vaydik, Lloyd Stevens, Laurent Guenette, Jerry Thomas, Sam Clegg.

Coach - Jack Shupe

Medicine Hat defeated Calgary Centennials 4 games to 2 in the Quarterfinals, then defeated Edmonton Oil Kings 4 games to 2 in the Semifinals.

Medicine Hat Tigers defeated Saskatoon Blades 3 games to 0 with 2 ties t win the 1973 President's Cup as WCHL champions.

The Tigers were known as the Gassoff Gang - Bob Gassoff was the league’s toughest player and brothers Brad and Ken were no slouches, either.

The Tigers led the league in penalty minutes (1,727 in 68 games) and Bob Gassoff set a WCHL record with 388 penalty minutes.

The Tigers got the short end of the stick at the 1973 Memorial Cup championship series, as after the round robin play, the 3 teams had the same 1 win, 1 loss record, so the Tigers got eliminated on goal difference because they only scored 6 goals in the 2 games.

Tom Lysiak won the WCHL regular season scoring race with 58 goals, 96 assists. Lanny McDonald was 3rd with 62 goals, 77 assists.

Tom Lysiak was voted to the 1973 WCHL All-Star Team.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!