Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on November 25th, 2021

The Abbott Memorial Cup, commonly referred to as the Abbott Cup, was awarded annually from 1919 through 1999 to the Junior "A" ice Hockey Champion for Western Canada.

The Cup was named after Captain E.L. (Hick) Abbott who was a noted Hockey player in Western Canada. He captained the Regina Victorias when it won the Junior Championship of Canada in 1913 and 1914. Captain Abbott died in active service in the First World War and the trophy was presented in his memory in 1919 by the Saskatchewan Amateur Hockey Association.

The Abbott Cup Western Canadian Junior "A" Champion went on the win the National Junior "A" Championship 40 times over 81 years:
Junior "A" Memorial Cup - 19 times in 52 competitions between 1919 and 1970

Tier II Junior "A" Centennial Cup/Royal Bank Cup - 21 times in 29 competitions between 1971 and 1999.

The franchise to win the most Abbott Cups was the Regina Patricias/Pats, with 11. Second were the Edmonton Oil Kings, with 8.

The most consecutive wins by a franchise is 7, for the Edmonton Oil Kings, from 1960 through 1966. The Prince Albert Raiders follow with 3 consecutive cups, from 1977 through 1979.

The province whose representatives won the most Abbott Cups was Saskatchewan, with 25. Manitoba representatives won 21 cups, Alberta won 18, British Columbia won 13, and Ontario teams playing in the Manitoba league won 4 cups.

The most consecutive wins by the representatives of the same province is 7, for Alberta, from 1960 through 1966. British Columbia follows with 5 consecutive cups, from 1989 through 1993.

The Abbott Memorial Cup now resides in the Hockey Hall of Fame


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!