Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on March 18th, 2023

Winnipeg Braves
Memorial Cup Champions 1959
Abbott Memorial Cup Champions 1959
Turnbull Memorial Cup Champions 1959

Team Roster
Front Row L to R - John Draper “Jack” Perrin (vice-president), Ernie Wakely, Wayne Larkin, Zenon "Zenny" Moroz, Bill Addison (president & manager).

2nd Row - Bill Allum (coach), Doug Monro, Wayne Winstone, Johnny Rodger, Alan Baty, Lew Mueller, Jim Drury (trainer).

3rd Row - Rene Brunel, Alan LeBlanc, Bob Leiter, Ernie Bradawaski, Ken King, Howie Hughes, Don Atamanchuk.

Top Row - Laurie Langrell, Ted Green, Paul Sexsmith, Allan Ingimundson, Jerry Kruk, Ted Knight, Pat Angers, John Sutherland.

The 1958-59 Braves won the Abbott Cup as Western Canadian Junior ‘A’ Champions, and were the last team from Winnipeg to win the Memorial Cup as National Champions.

Under the leadership of manager Bill Addison and coach Bill Allum, the Braves defeated the Peterborough Petes coached by 25-year-old Scotty Bowman. In the championship series, the Petes won the first game 5-4, and the Braves came back to win four straight games 5-2, 5-2, 5-3 and 6-2. The final game of the series was played in Brandon, Manitoba due to the Shrine Circus appearing at Winnipeg Arena. The team included future NHL'ers Ted Green and Ernie Wakely.

The Memorial Cup Championship Team was inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in 2003, and inducted into the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame in the team category


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!