Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on February 1st, 2018

Montreal Canadiens Team Photo 1929

Team Roster
L to R - Jim McKenna (assistant trainer), Ed Dufour (trainer), Howie Morenz, Pit Lepine, Aurèle Joliat, Georges Mantha, Gus Rivers, Nick Wasnie, George Hainsworth, Marty Burke, Albert Leduc, Sylvio Mantha, Armand Mondou, Wildor Larochelle, Cecil Hart (coach), Leo Dandurand (manager).

Inset Right - Bert McCaffery
Left Inset - Gus Rivers

This team would go on to win the 1930 Stanley Cup championship, defeating the Boston Bruins in a best of 3 final - 2 games to 0. Montreal won 3-0 and 4-3 to win the team's third Stanley Cup championship.

The Canadiens had lost all four of their regular-season meetings with the Bruins. Captain Sylvio Mantha was the leader, scoring in both final games.

Game one saw the Bruins play way below their usual form and George Hainsworth picked up a shutout. In game two, Howie Morenz scored what proved to be the winning goal at 17:50 of the second period and the Canadiens won the Stanley Cup.

It was the first time all year that the Bruins lost two games in a row. This prompted the change for the following year in the Finals format to a best-of-five format.

Sourced from Credited to Chandler Studio.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!