Hockey Gods


Sault Ste Marie Greyhounds, Sault Ste Marie Greyhounds 1924, 1924 Sault Ste Marie Greyhounds, Sault Ste Marie Greyhounds Players, Sault Ste Marie Greyhounds Legends, Sault Ste Marie Greyhounds History, History of Sault Ste Marie Greyhounds, Sault Ste Marie Greyhounds Allan Cup, Soo Greyhounds, Soo Greyhounds 1924, 1924 Soo Greyhounds, 1924 Soo Greyhounds Roster, Soo Greyhounds Jersey, Soo Greyhounds Players, Soo Greyhounds Roster, Soo Greyhounds Legends, Soo Greyhounds History, History of the Soo Greyhounds, Dutch Cain, Jim Dutch Cain, James Dutch Cain, James Francis Dutch Cain, Jim Cain, James Francis Cain, Johnny Woodruff, John Woodruff, Jack Woodruff, John Herald Woodruff, Merlyn Phillips, Bill Phillips, Merlyn Bill Phillips, Merlyn Joseph Phillips, Babe Donnelly, James Babe Donnelly, James Donnelly, James Joseph Donnelly, Roy Lessard, Gloomy Lessard, Roy Gloomy Lessard, Roy Stanley Lessard, Garnet Campbell, Garnet Roy Campbell, Jim Fahey, James Fahey, James Vincent Fahey, Fred Morgan, Art Nichols, J D Tipton, Stan Brown, Bus Brown, Alfred Stanislaus Brown, Joseph Alfred Stanislaus Brown, Bun Cook, Fred Bun Cook, Fred Cook, Frederick Joseph Cook, George McNamara, George Andrew McNamara, Flat Walsh, Jim Flat Walsh, James Flat Walsh, Jim Walsh, James Walsh, James Patrick Walsh, Harry Woods, Jas Gemmell, 1924, 1924 IsHockey, 1924 Ice Hockey, 1924 Hokej, 1924 Hockey, 1924 Hockey Sur Glace, 1924 EisHockey, 1924 Hockey Champions, 1924 ice Hockey Champions, Northern Ontario Hockey Association, Northern Ontario Hockey Association 1924, Northern Ontario Hockey Association Champions, 1924 Northern Ontario Hockey Association Champions, Allan Cup, Allan Cup History, 1924 Allan Cup Winners, 1924 Allan Cup Champions, 1924 Allan Cup, 1924 Allan Cup History, Sault Athletic Club, 1924 Sault Athletic Club, Sault Athletic Club History, Gouin Street Arena History



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on March 21st, 2024

Soo Greyhounds / Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
Sault Athletic Club

- Northern Ontario Hockey Association / N.O.H.A. Champions 1924
- Allan Cup Champions 1924

Team Roster
Front Row L to R - Dutch Cain, Johnny Woodruff, Merlyn "Bill" Phillips, James “Babe” Donnelly, Roy "Gloomy" Lessard, Garnet Campbell, Jim Fahey.

Top Row - Fred Morgan (trainer), Art Nichols (goalie), J.D. Tipton (treasurer), Stan "Bus" Brown, Fred "Bun" Cook, George McNamara (coach), James "Flat" Walsh, Harry Woods (executive).

Insets - Jas Gemmell (executive), J.D. Jones (president), W.J. Edwards (secretary).

The Allan Cup Championship was a 2 game total goals series.
Sault Ste. Marie 6 Winnipeg Selkirks 2
Winnipeg Selkirks 1 Sault Ste. Marie 0
Soo Greyhounds beat Winnipeg Selkirks 6 goals to 3.

George McNamara was chosen to be the team’s first coach and manager. It was McNamara who named the team arguing that “a Greyhound is much faster than a wolf”, in an obvious reference to the already established rival club, the Sudbury Wolves.

On March 31, 1924, close to 10,000 Sault Ste. Marie residents met the team when they arrived at the CPR Station bringing home the championship Allan Cup.

Sourced from President's Collection.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!