Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on November 6th, 2015

Lethbridge Maple Leafs Hockey Team.
Worlds Amateur Ice Hockey Champions 1951
Winners of the Churchill Cup 1951

Team Roster
Top Row L to R - Denis William "Dinny" Flanagan, Donald McLean, Richard "Dick" Gray (coach), Walter S. "Whitey" Rimstad, William James "Billy" Gibson, Stanley Obodiac, Thomas P. Wood, Hector Negrello (captain), William J. "Bill" Flick,

Middle Row - Lyle Arnold "Mickey" Roth, James I. Malacko, Maldwyn D. "Mallie" Hughes, William D. "Bill" Chandler, Donald George "Don" Vogan.

Front Row - Andrew "Nap" Milroy, "King" Carl Sorokoski, Lou Siray, Bert Knibbs

The Lethbridge Maple Leafs played in the Western Canada Senior Hockey League. In 1950, they captured the Western Canadian Championship.

The Maple Leafs were selected to represent Canada at the 1951 World Championships in Paris, France. Coached by Dick Gray, the Maple Leafs won the gold medal, following which they embarked on a European tour. They entered the first Sir Winston Churchill Cup Competition, winning the gold medal. During their European tour, they played 62 games winning 51, tying 4, and losing 7 of them.

Stan Obodiac was the leading scorer of the 1951 World Championship tournament.

The 1951 Lethbridge Maple Leafs team was inducted to the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame in 1974

Sourced from


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!