Hockey Gods


No similar Images were found.


Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on November 5th, 2013

Owen Sound Greys
Memorial Cup Champions - 1924
John Ross Robertson Cup Champions 1924

Team Roster
Top Row L to R - Lawrence James "Dutch" Cain, Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Edward Dixon "Teddy" Graham, Hedley Smith, Melville Sydney "Butch" Keeling, George Fred Elliott.

Middle Row - E.A. "Jimmy" Jamieson (manager), Bev Flairity, Elgin "Shorty" Wright, E.T. Hicks (coach).

Bottom Row - E.S. Pratt (treasurer), Harvey Silverthorne, Percy Ryan (trainer), W.C. Young (president).

The Owen Sound Greys defeated the Calgary Canadians iIn a two-game, total goal series, held at Shea's Amphitheatre in Winnipeg, Manitoba.
Game 1: Owen Sound 5-3 Calgary
Game 2: Calgary 2-2 Owen Sound

Hedley Smith faced 49 shots in the second game, stopping all 24 he faced in the third period alone to preserve the victory.

This was the 1st Memorial Cup Championship for Owen Sound.

The Greys went 22-2-2 during that magical season, scoring 204 goals and allowing only 69. Weiland led the club with a whopping 68 goals in 26 games while Butch Keeling had 62 goals in 26 games, and an incredible 37 goals and 46 points in 15 playoff games, which may very well be a Canadian junior Hockey record.

When the Greys came home April 2, they were met at the CNR station by a crowd estimated at 8,000 people — about two-thirds of Owen Sound’s population.

Sourced from Credited to Craig Studio.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!