Hockey Gods


No similar Images were found.


Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on November 27th, 2012

Victoria Hockey Club / Regina Victorias
Allan Cup Champions 1914
Patton Cup Champions 1914
Van Valkenburg Cup Champions 1914

Team Roster
Edward Lyman Abbott, Fred Wilson, Fred McCulloch, Walter Molisky, Alvin Hammond, Charlie Otton, Austin Creswell (captain), Frank Mastel,

Coach - J Brown
Manager - Graham B. Reid

Team Officials and others - Al Urquhart, G. Woodside, C.A. Wood, J.A. Westman, F. Ritter, Frank Mastel, Jack "Chesty" Kain, J Tait, J Potts, C Young.

The Winnipeg Monarchs won championship of the Winnipeg league, and were awarded the 1914 Allan Cup. They then defeated defeated Kenora Thistles 6-2 in a challenge cup game.

The Monarchs then played the Regina Victorias in another challenge game, but lost 5-4, and the Allan Cup was awarded to Regina.

Regina successfully defended the Allan Cup against Grande Mere (Quebec champions) on March 16, 6-4 and again on March 18, 4-1 to retain the 1914 Allan Cup championship

Edward Lyman Abbott, a right winger on the Victorias, and one of the teams best scorers, enlisted in the army after the season, was sent overseas to fight for Canada in World War 1.

Abbott was awarded the Military Cross, and additional Bars to the Cross, for his courage and leadership during the war. Sadly, Abbott was later killed in battle.

In his memory the Abbott Memorial Cup was created and awarded annually to the Junior “A” Hockey champion for Western Canada from 1919 to 1999.

Sourced from


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!