Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on February 2nd, 2012

Whitby Dunlops - Allan Cup Champions - 1957
Back row: A. E. Stevens, Sandy Air, Bus Gagnon, Alf Treen, Don McBeth, Charlie Burns, George Samolenko, Wall Brabin (assistant manager).
Centre row: Gord Myles, Jack Armstrong, Jack Donlevy, John Henderson, Fred Etcher, Doug Williams, Stan Waylett (trainer).
Front row: Ronnie Moore (stick boy), Harry Sinden, Ted O'Connor, Bob Attersley, Wren Blair (manager), Eddie Redmond, Tom O'Connor, Frank Bonello.

NOTE: The original Whitby Dunlops were founded in 1954 when the 1952-53 Oshawa Generals were disbanded after their arena burned down. Some of the players, along with coach and manager, Wren Blair, formed the Oshawa Truckers for the 1953-54 season.

In 1954, the Oshawa Truckers relocated to Whitby and were temporarily renamed the Whitby Seniors. The team played out of the Whitby Community Arena and was soon sponsored by the Dunlop Rubber Company. The newly renamed Whitby Dunlops, started their first year as a Senior B team. After winning the league they moved up to the OHA Senior A League.

The Dunlops won the Allan Cup in both 1957 and 1958 and won a gold medal at the World Ice Hockey Championships in 1958 at Oslo, Norway

Sourced from Whitby Archives. Credited to Lou & Nat Turofsky.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!