Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on March 8th, 2024

Montreal Victorias 1899
Victoria Hockey Club of Montreal

Canadian Amateur Hockey League / CAHL 1899

Team Roster
Standing L to R - Jack Ewing, Fred McRobie, J.S. Bishop (honorary secretary treasurer), Frank Howard Wilson (honorary president), Mike Grant, Frank Richardson, Russell Bowie.

Sitting - Cam Davidson, Graham Drinkwater, Hanbury Budden (president), Geordie / Gordon Lewis (goalie), Ernie McLea.

Front - Robert MacDougall.

The 1899 CAHL season was the inaugural season of the Canadian Amateur Hockey League.
Teams played an eight-game schedule, with the Victorias finishing 2nd with a 6-2 record.

The Victorias played a 2 game total goals Stanley Cup challenge series vs Winnipeg Victorias at Montreal Arena on February 15, 1899, winning 2-1 and again on February 18, 1899 winning 3-2 and the series 5-3 in goals.

The Montreal Shamrocks finished as champions of the 1st CAHL season with a record of 7-1 and were awarded the 1st Championship Trophy of the CAHL, along with the Stanley Cup as the new CAHL league champions on March 4, 1899.

Sourced from President's Collection.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!