Hockey Gods


No similar Images were found.


Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on December 18th, 2023

Michigan University
Michigan Wolverines
NCAA Division 1 Mens Ice Hockey Champions 1948

Team Roster
Connie Hill (captain), Gordon McMillan, Wally Gacek, Al Renfrew, Wally Grant, Owen McArdle, Leonard Brumm, Sam Stedman, David Ross Smith, Dick Starrak, Ted Greer, Clem Cossalter, Paul Fontana, John Griffin, Bill Jacobson, Bob Marshall, Al Nadeau, Bill Pritula, Herb Upton, Paul Milanowski, Jack McDonald

Coach - Vic Heyliger

The Michigan Wolverines started their season off by playing the NHL Detroit Red Wings in a exhibition game on November 28, 1947 at the Coliseum in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The teams switched players throughout the game and the Wolverines were the winners in the end 9-7 in front of 1300 plus spectators.

The Wolverines then played 23 games, winning 20, 2 losses and 1 tie to finish their regular season. In the semifinal game of the first NCAA Frozen Four collegiate ice Hockey tournament, Michigan defeated Boston College 6-4 in overtime in front of a capacity crowd of 2,500 at the Broadmoor Arena in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

The Wolverines then defeated Dartmouth College 8-4 in the 1st ever NCAA Men's Ice Hockey Championship, also played at Broadmoor Arena.

Wally Grant and Connie Hill were selected for the NCAA All-Tournament First Team and the Associated Press All-Tournament Team.

Six members of the 1947–48 Michigan Wolverines men's ice hockey have been inducted into the University of Michigan Athletic Hall of Honor. They are head coach Vic Heyliger (1980), Connie Hill (1985), Al Renfrew (1986), Wally Grant (1987), Gordon McMillan (1992), and Wally Gacek (2007).


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!