Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on October 21st, 2022

India Olympic Hockey Team
Olympic Field Hockey Champions 1936
Games of the XI Olympiad in Berlin, Germany

Team Roster
Dhyan Chand (captain), Roop Singh, Mahmood Jaffer, Earnest Goodsir-Cullen, Shahab-ud-Din, Carlyle Tapsell, Sayed Jaffar, Peter Fernandes, Ali Dara, Richard Allen, Ahmed Khan, Ahsan Khan, Lionel Emmett, Joseph Galibardy, Mohammed Hussain, Mirza Masood, Cyril Michie, Baboo Nimal, Joseph Phillips, Shabban , G.S. Garewal,

Team Manager - Swammi Jagan Nath

On August 15, 1936 before a crowd of 40,000 fans, India beat Germany 8-1 to win its hat trick of Olympic gold medals (1928, 1932, 1936). Dhyan Chand scored 3 of those goals, also losing a tooth in the match when he collided with the German goalkeeper. Chand played the second half of the match barefoot to increase his running speed, which he scored 2 goals in.

During the tournament, the Indian team scored 38 goals but only allowed the 1 goal scored by Germany against them.

This was the last Hockey team of undivided India.

Each country was allowed to enter a team of 22 players and they all were eligible for participation. A total number of 214 field Hockey players were entered......India had 19 players.

6 of the players representing India were Anglo-Indian
(Allen, Tapsell, Cullen, Emmett, Michie, Galibardy)


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!