Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on October 22nd, 2021

Chicago BlackHawks
Stanley Cup Champions 1961

Team Roster
Front Row L to R - Glenn Hall, Ed Litzenberger, Reggie Fleming, Arthur Wirtz Sr. (president/owner), Tommy Ivan (manager), James D Norris (chairman/owner), Rudy Pilous (coach), Bobby Hull, Bill Hay, Denis Dejordy.

Middle Row - Johnny Gottselig (publicity/director), Eric Nesterenko, Dollard St Laurent, Earl Balfour, Elmer Vasko, Ab McDonald, Al Arbour, Jack Evans, Wayne Hillman, Michael Wirtz (vice president).

Back Row - Nick Garen (trainer), Murray Balfour, Pierre Pilote, Chico Maki, Stan Mikita, Ron Murphy, Wayne Hicks, Tod Sloan, Ken Wharram, Walter Humeniuk (assistant trainer).

The 1961 Stanley Cup Final was contested by the Detroit Red Wings and the Chicago Blackhawks. Chicago was making its first appearance since 1944 in the Final, and Detroit, their first appearance since 1956. The Blackhawks would win the best-of-seven series four games to two to win their third Stanley Cup, their first since 1938.

Two future Hockey Hall Of Fame members, Bobby Hull and Stan Mikita, made their first Stanley Cup appearances. Hull scored two in the first game including the winner, and Mikita scored the winner in game five.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!