Hockey Gods


No similar Images were found.


Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on May 20th, 2021

Pittsburgh Hornets
American Hockey League
Calder Cup Champions 1952
F. G. "Teddy" Oke Trophy Champions (West Division) 1951-52

Team Roster
Back Row L to R - George Armstrong, Frank Sullivan, John McLellan, Bob Hassard, Frank Mathers, Tim Horton, John Ashley.

Middle Row - Socko McCarey (trainer), Phil Maloney, Gord Hannigan, Gil Mayer, Bill Ezinicki, Chuck Blair, Leo Boivin, Jim Balmer (general manager).

Front Row - Bob Solinger, Rudy Migay, King Clancy (coach) Peter Backor, Baz Bastien, Andy Barbe, Ray Hannigan

For the first time in team history, Pittsburgh finished first overall in the AHL, finishing with 46 wins and 95 points during the 1951-52 season (both are all-time best in club’s history).

The Hornets then finally won their first Calder Cup on April 20, 1952, by beating the Providence Reds in six games on a goal by Ray Hannigan during the game's second overtime at the Rhode Island Auditorium. The AHL president, Maurice Podoloff, nor the Calder Cup Trophy, were present when the Hornets earned the championship. They were later presented with the Cup while traveling en route to Pittsburgh.

It was also during the 1951–52 season that the Hornets wore black and gold jerseys for the first time.

Gil Mayer won the Harry “Hap” Holmes Award for being AHL’s best goalie.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!