Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on July 13th, 2017

Flin Flon Bombers
Memorial Cup Champions 1957
Abbott Cup Champions 1957

Team Roster
Barry Beatty, Jean Gauthier, Patrick "Patty" Ginnell, Harvey Fleming, Carl Forster, Ted Hampson (captain), Ron Hutchinson, Mike Kardash, George Konik, Orland Kurtenbach, Rod Lee, Cliff Lennartz, Mel Pearson, Duane Rupp, Ken Wiley, George Wood

Coach - Bobby "Cagey" Kirk
Manager - Doug Dawson
Trainer - Hec McCaig

The 1956–57 Flin Flon Bombers had no trouble winning their own league, the SJHL, averaging nearly 6 goals a game and allowing only 2 against. They won the league title by 19 points. In the playoffs, they beat the Humboldt Indians 4-games-to-none and won the final over the Prince Albert Mintos 4-games-to-2.

In the Western Canadian playdowns, the Bombers next played Edmonton Oil Kings of the Western Junior Hockey League. After allowing the series to be split after four games, the Bombers beat the Oil Kings the next two games to take the series in six. The Bombers then beat the Thunder Bay Junior A Hockey League's Fort William Canadiens four games straight to win the Abbott Cup.

Best-of-seven series Memorial Cup, held at the Whitney Forum in Flin Flon, Manitoba and at Regina Exhibition Stadium in Regina, Saskatchewan.

Flin Flon won their 1st Memorial Cup, defeating Ottawa 4 games to 3.

Game 1: Flin Flon 3-1 Ottawa (in Flin Flon)
Game 2: Ottawa 4-3 Flin Flon (in Flin Flon)
Game 3: Ottawa 5-2 Flin Flon (in Flin Flon)
Game 4: Flin Flon 3-1 Ottawa (in Regina)
Game 5: Flin Flon 3-2 Ottawa (in Regina)
Game 6: Ottawa 4-2 Flin Flon (in Regina)
Game 7: Flin Flon 3-2 Ottawa (in Regina)

The 1956–57 Flin Flon Bombers were inducted into both the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame and Museum and the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!