Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on May 1st, 2017

Vernon Canadians "The Blues"
Okanagan Senior Hockey League Becker Cup Champions 1956 (Frank Becker Trophy).
Okanagan Senior Hockey League Willoughby Cup Champions 1956 (Willoughby Challenge Trophy).
British Columbia Savage Cup Champions 1956
Western Canada Patton Cup Champions 1956
Allan Cup Champions 1956

Team Roster
Front Row L to R - Hal Gordon, Odie Lowe, George "Bus" Agar, Brian Roche, Dave Gatherum

Middle Row L to R - Orval Lavell, Jack MacDonald, Johnny Harms (captain), George Castonguay (president & manager), Willie Schmidt, Don McLeod, Frank King

Back Row L to R - Dr. Smith, Walt Trentini, Sherman Blair, Tom Stecyk, Merv Bidoski, Art Hart, Reg Betts (trainer)

The Vernon Canadians won the Okanagan Senior Hockey League / OSHL regular season (Becker Cup), Then the OSHL Playoff Championship (Willoughby Cup) beating the Kelowna Packers 3 out of 5 games.

The Canadians went on to win the British Columbia Senior Men’s Hockey Playoffs (Savage Cup) against the Spokane Flyers, then the Western Canada Senior Championships (Patton Cup) against the Winnipeg Maroons and, finally, the Vernon Canadians won the National Senior Championships of Canada and the Allan Cup by beating the Chatham Maroons 4 games to 1

Sourced from


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!