Hockey Gods


No similar Images were found.


Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on June 17th, 2014

Australia Kookaburras - Field Hockey World Cup Champions 2014

Team Roster

Jamie Dwyer, Simon Orchard, Chris Ciriello, Mark Knowles, Jacob Whetton, Aran Zalewski, Matthew Swann, Kieran Govers, Fergus Kavanagh, Liam de Young, Glenn Turner, Robert Hammond, Eddie Ockenden, Matt Gohdes, Tim Deavin, Tyler Lovell, Andrew Charter, Jeremy Hayward

Head Coach - Ric Charlesworth

Assistant Coach - Paul Gaudoin

Team Manager - Martin Ferrari

Australia’s men’s Hockey team, the Kookaburras, has been crowned world champions once again after an emphatic 6-1 win over World Cup hosts and Olympic silver medallists, the Netherlands.

A hat-trick from penalty corner specialist Chris Ciriello helped the Kookaburras to a second consecutive world title as they stunned the hosts to become only the third team to successfully defend a world crown, following in the footsteps of Pakistan and Germany.

Chris Ciriello 20, 47, 53 (PC, PC, PC)
Kieran Govers 24 (FG)
Glenn Turner 37 (FG)
Jamie Dwyer 64 (FG)

Jeroen Hertzberger 14 (FG)

Kookaburras captain Mark Knowles, playing in his third World Cup final, was named Player of the Tournament while 21 year-old Jeremy Hayward, playing in only his 17th senior international match, was named Young Player of the Tournament.

On the biggest of stages, Simon Orchard made his 150th appearance for the Kookaburras while five times World Player of the Year Jamie Dwyer drew level with Jay Stacy as Australia’s most capped player ever with 321 appearances in the green and gold.

Final Standings
1. Australia (Gold medal)
2. Netherlands (Silver medal)
3. Argentina (Bronze medal)
4. England
5. Belgium
6. Germany
7. New Zealand
8. Spain
9. India
10. Korea
11. South Africa
12. Malaysia

Sourced from


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!