Hockey Gods


No similar Images were found.


Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on April 6th, 2023

The Trophy was named for Joseph "Joe" Turner, a goaltender from Windsor, Ontario.

The Turner Cup was the championship trophy of the International Hockey League / IHL from 1945 to 2001.

The trophy was later redesigned after this image....circa 1966.

During the 1936-37 season, Turner made his first semi-professional appearance as part of the Windsor Bulldogs. A top prospect of the Detroit Red Wings, he led the Ontario Hockey Association in goals-against average in 1937-38. His success there led to him joining the Detroit Holzbaugh-Fords for their 1939-40, and 1940-41 seasons. The following season would be the highlight of his career, as his stellar play with the Holzbaugh-Fords led to him being assigned to the Detroit Red Wings minor league affiliate ..... the Indianapolis Capitals, and led the Capitols to the F. G. "Teddy" Oke Trophy as the 1941-42 Western Division champions and the 1942 Calder Cup championship. He would also play in the AHL All-Star Game, being selected to the 1st team that season, and as a 22 year old made his NHL debut and only appearance on February 5, 1942 vs Toronto Maple Leafs at The Olympia in a 3-3 OT tie.

Turner enrolled in the United States army on July 1st 1942. He was a 2nd Lieutenant in Company K, 311th Infantry, 78th Division. Mr. Turner served until 1944, when he was declared missing and eventually declared Killed In Action during the Battle of Hürtgen Forest. Approximately 33,000 Allied Troops were killed or incapacitated during that battle, and Joe was one of them. Though he was wounded in the initial assault, Mr. Turner and a friend heard the cries of a wounded compatriot. They left their group to rescue their friend, and were never seen alive again. Originally buried in Belgium at the age of 25, Mr. Turner was later transferred to the Victoria Memorial Cemetery in Windsor.

Turner was one of only 2 NHL’ers to die in combat during World War 2, the other being Dudley Garrett of the New York Rangers.

The Turner Cup was officially retired when the IHL ceased operations in July, 2001

All Time Winners
2000-01 Orlando Solar Bears
1999-00 Chicago Wolves
1998-99 Houston Aeros
1997-98 Chicago Wolves
1996-97 Detroit Vipers
1995-96 Utah Grizzlies
1994-95 Denver Grizzlies
1993-94 Atlanta Knights
1993-94 Atlanta Knights
1992-93 Fort Wayne Komets
1991-92 Kansas City Blades
1990-91 Peoria Rivermen
1989-90 Indianapolis Ice
1988-89 Muskegon Lumberjacks
1987-88 Salt Lake Golden Eagles
1986-87 Salt Lake Golden Eagles
1985-86 Muskegon Lumberjacks
1984-85 Peoria Rivermen
1983-84 Flint Generals
1982-83 Toledo Goaldiggers
1981-82 Toledo Goaldiggers
1980-81 Saginaw Gears
1979-80 Kalamazoo Wings
1978-79 Kalamazoo Wings
1977-78 Toledo Goaldiggers
1976-77 Saginaw Gems
1975-76 Dayton Gems
1974-75 Toledo Goaldiggers
1973-74 Des Moines Capitols
1972-73 Fort Wayne Komets
1971-72 Port Huron Flags
1970-71 Port Huron Flags
1969-70 Dayton Gems
1968-69 Dayton Gems
1967-68 Muskegon Mohawks
1966-67 Toledo Blades
1965-66 Port Huron Flags
1964-65 Fort Wayne Komets
1963-64 Toledo Blades
1962-63 Fort Wayne Komets
1961-62 Muskegon Zephyrs
1960-61 St. Paul Saints
1959-60 St. Paul Saints
1958-59 Louisville Rebels
1957-58 Indianapolis Chiefs
1956-57 Cincinnati Mohawks
1955-56 Cincinnati Mohawks
1954-55 Cincinnati Mohawks
1953-54 Cincinnati Mohawks
1952-53 Cincinnati Mohawks
1951-52 Toledo Mercurys
1950-51 Toledo Mercurys
1949-50 Chatham Maroons
1948-49 Windsor Hettche Spitfires
1947-48 Toledo Mercurys
1946-47 Windsor Spitfires
1945-46 Detroit Auto Club


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!