Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on March 20th, 2023

Buffalo Bisons 1969-70
American Hockey League / AHL

Team Roster
Front Row - Fred Hunt (general manager), Roger Cote, Gerry Ouellette, Al Johnstone, Gilles Villemure, Guy Trottier, Dennis Kassian.

Middle Row - Frank Christie (trainer), John Barber, Bill Knibbs, Ron Attwell, Bob Jones, Don Blackburn, Wayne Maki, Joe Cavanaugh (secretary-treasurer), Fred Shero (coach).

Top Row - Gary Veneruzzo, Bob Ash, Dick Paradise, Larry Hornung, Randy Legge, Wayne Rivers.

This would be the last season for the Buffalo Bisons in the AHL as the National Hockey League added the Buffalo Sabres who would begin play the next season, the Bisons would go out on top by winning the John D. Chick Trophy as West Division regular season champions with a record 40 wins, 15 losses and 14 ties.

In the 1970 AHL playoffs, the Bisons defeated Quebec Aces and Springfield Kings to win the 1970 Calder Cup championship ..... their 5th in franchise history.

Gilles Villemure was awarded the Les Cunningham Award as American Hockey League MVP and the Harry "Hap" Holmes Memorial Award.

Fred Shero was awarded the Louis A. R. Pieri Memorial Award as AHL coach of the year.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!