Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on December 8th, 2014

Toronto St. Michael's Majors
Memorial Cup Champions 1945
George T Richardson Memorial Trophy Champions 1945
J. Ross Robertson Cup Champions 1945

Joe Primeau returned to coach the 1945 Memorial Cup St. Michael's team, after being runners-up in the OHA finals in 1944. In 1945, Toronto won the J. Ross Robertson Cup, defeating the Galt Black Hawks in four games straight. The Majors advanced further by eliminating the Montreal Royals in six games in the eastern final to capture the George T Richardson Memorial Trophy. They won the sixth game 7-4 behind Joe Sadler's three goals in front of 10,548 fans at Maple Leaf Gardens on April 11.

The Memorial Cup final was played in its entirety at Maple Leaf Gardens. The Majors' opponents were the Moose Jaw Canucks coached by Roy Bentley. Toronto won game one 8-5 on April 14, then Moose Jaw turned the tables on April 16 with a 5-3 victory to even the series. The Majors won each of the next three games by scores of 6-3, 4-3 and 7-2 in the deciding game. Trail, B.C. native Frank Turik scored three hat tricks in the five games to become the tournament's leading goal scorer.

Team Roster
John Arundel, John Blute, Pat Boehmer, Les Costello, Leo Gravelle, Bob Gray, Johnny McCormack, Ted McLean (captain), Jim Morrison, Gus Mortson, Bobby Paul, Joe Sadler, Phil Samis, Tod Sloan, Jimmy Thomson, Frank Turik

Coach - Joe Primeau
Trainer - D. Wallace
Trainer - J. Frezell
Athletic Director - Father Hugh Mallon


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!