Hockey Gods



Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on May 14th, 2014

Dallas Stars
Stanley Cup Champions 1999
Clarence S. Campbell Bowl Champions 1999
1999 Presidents' Trophy Winner
1999 Conn Smythe Trophy Winner - Joe Nieuwendyk
1999 William M. Jennings Trophy Winners - Ed Balfour & Roman Turek

Team Roster
Mike Modano, Brian Skrudland, Guy Carbonneau, Joe Nieuwendyk, Jon Sim, Blake Sloan, Mike Keane, Dave Reid, Jamie Langenbrunner, Pat Verbeek, Brent Severyn, Brett Hull, Jere Lehtinen, Grant Marshall, Benoit Hogue, Tony Hrkac, Derian Hatcher, Craig Ludwig, Darryl Sydor, Richard Matvichuk, Sergei Zubov, Shawn Chambers, Doug Lidster, Brad Lukowich, Roman Turek, Ed Belfour

Head Coach - Ken Hitchcock
Assistant Coach - Doug Jarvis
Assistant Coach - Rick Wilson
General Manager - Bob Gainey
Assistant General Manager - Doug Armstrong
President - Jim Lites
Chairman / Owner - Thomas Ollis Hicks

The 1999 Stanley Cup Final NHL championship series was contested by the Eastern Conference champion Buffalo Sabres and the Western Conference champion Dallas Stars.

The Dallas Stars defeated the Buffalo Sabres to win their first Stanley Cup championship in their history. Brett Hull scored the controversial overtime goal in game six for Dallas.

When Brett Hull scored his series-clinching goal in triple overtime of game six, his foot was in the crease but the puck was not. During the middle of the season, the NHL sent out a memo clarifying the "skate in the crease" rule that allowed goals in instances where the goalscorer established possession of the puck prior to entering the crease. On this play, Hull kicked the puck with his left skate (while still outside of the crease) into a shooting position. Because of that action, he became the possessor of the puck prior to his skate entering the crease, which the NHL determined made the goal legitimate. Others have pointed out that similar plays were called differently during the regular season. Many Buffalo fans felt that this call was incorrectly made and the term "No Goal!" became their rallying cry.

Hull's goal ended the series, and the Stars were awarded the Cup. In 1999, it was illegal to score a goal if an offensive player's skate entered the crease before the puck did. At the time, even Dallas Morning News hockey writer Keith Gave questioned the legality of the goal. NHL officials, however, maintained that Hull's two shots in the goal mouth constituted a single possession of the puck since the puck deflected off Hasek, and their ruling stood, citing that they were going to change the rule the following year anyway. Al Strachan, Hockey Writer of the Toronto Sun, and all time NHL scoring leader Wayne Gretzky are on record as saying that the goal was legally scored and should have stood. NHL Director of Officiating Bryan Lewis said there was no crease violation because "Hull had possession of the puck when his skate entered the crease."

Joe Nieuwendyk was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as the MVP of the playoffs.

Sourced from Credited to Ryan Remiorz.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!