Hockey Gods




Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on January 14th, 2012

61st Overseas Battalion - Allan Cup Champions 1916 - In the 1915-16 season the Allan Cup was won by a military team, the 61st Battalion, based in Winnipeg. After the war Jocko Anderson would win a Stanley Cup with the Victoria Cougars in 1925. Four members of the battalion team would eventually make it to the National Hockey League including John 'Crutchy' Morrison, Emery 'Spunk' Sparrow and Hal Winkler. The fourth was the great 'Bullet Joe' Simpson; he played six years for the New York Americans, won a Stanley Cup with the Americans and was elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame. During the war Joe Simpson was wounded twice while serving at the Western Front with the 43rd Battalion CEF and was awarded a Military Medal for gallantry - Two members of the hockey team did not survive the war. Lt William Alexander Simpson was killed during the 8th Battalion's attack on Hill 70 15 August 1917. His body was not recovered; he is remembered on Canada's memorial at Vimy Ridge. Pte David Alfred Morrison was killed 6 November 1917 during the 31st Battalion's attack on Passchendaele village. His body was also not recovered and he is remembered on the Menin Gate memorial in Ypres

Sourced from


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!