Hockey Gods


Thumb Thumb Thumb


Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on January 14th, 2012

Monarch Hockey Club / Winnipeg Monarchs
Allan Cup Champions 1915
Pattinson Cup Winners 1915

Team Roster
Tommy Murray, Reg Hay, Fred “Steamer" Maxwell, Alex Irvin, Dick Irvin, Stan Marples, Clem Loughlin, Del Irvine, Frank Cadham, Harry Stewart

Trainer - Walter Robertson (Robinson)
President - F.P.H. Marples
Secretary - F.B. Ferguson
Treasurer - Carl Stewart
Executive - R.A.C. Manning

After winning the league championship in 1914, the Monarchs defeated Kenora on March 11th, 6-2, but lost out to the Regina Victorias on March 13th, 5-4.

The Monarchs won the Pattinson Trophy (Winnipeg League) for the 1914-15 season, defeating both Fort William and Edmonton in the playoffs.

The Melville Millionaires won the Saskatchewan championship and the right to defend the Allan Cup. They defeated the Toronto Victorias in a 2 game series.

On March 10th, the Monarchs defeated Melville 4-2 to claim the 1915 Allan Cup championship. As would be the case for the generation affected by World War I, service teams supplied most of the senior Hockey of the day.

The Monarchs’ team photo shows both Walter Robertson and Frank Cadham in their military uniforms.

Sourced from Credited to Robson Photographer.


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!