Hockey Gods


No similar Images were found.


Uploaded By: PRESIDENT on November 17th, 2015

Charlottetown Armour Fence Islanders / Charlottetown Islanders
Allan Cup Champions 1991
Eastern Canadian Hockey Champions 1991 / J.P. Bolton Memorial Trophy
Atlantic Senior AAA Hockey Champions 1991 / Col. J. Bourque Trophy
N.B. Senior AAA Hockey League Champions 1991

Team Roster
Dave Matte, Monty Emery, Todd Sutcliffe, Craig Jenkins, Ronnie Carragher (captain), Darwin McCutcheon, Bob Doiron, Don Clow, Mike James, Wayne Bernard, Steve Gauthier, Dave Cameron, Darren Murphy, Rob Moffat, Mike McTague, Gordie Rodgerson, Mike Devine, Terry McKenna, Kevin Harvey, Stephen Clark, Don McKay, Jerry Fleming, Garth Arsenault, John Nelson, Marc Gallant

Head Coach - Gordie Whitlock
Assistant Coach - Kevin Smith
General Manager - Peter Williams
Executive - Barry Riley
Executive - Donnie Murnaghan
Owner - Bruce Wheeler
Owner - Nalda Wheeler
Owner - Wilf MacDonald
Owner - Jim McTague

Missing from photo are sponsor Earl Redmond (Armour Fence) and Glen Patterson (owner).

The playoff run began with the Islanders battling back from a 3-2 deficit for a 4-3 win in a bitter series against the Saint John Vitos for the New Brunswick senior AAA championship. John Nelson earned MVP honours.

Next was another tough match as the Islanders outlasted Dartmouth, N.S., in another seven-gamer for the Atlantic senior AAA title. Jerry Fleming scored twice in a 4-2 win to tie the series 3-3, before a Ronnie Carragher hat trick ended matters in the winner-take-all decider.

The Islanders then defeated Laval 4-1 in the Eastern Canadian championship. Kevin Harvey’s overtime winner in Game 4 was one of the series highlights.

Championship Final;

This brought five-time winner Thunder Bay Twins into Charlottetown for the Allan Cup final. In front of big crowds at the new Civic Centre, the Islanders played tremendous hockey, jumping out to a 3-0 lead before completing the sweep with a 5-4 overtime win in Game 4, courtesy of a John Nelson winner. Dave Cameron was MVP.

It was the first Allan Cup win by a Maritime team in 56 years.

The province and city of Charlottetown showed their appreciation with a public ceremony on the steps of the Confederation Centre, and then staged a gala banquet at the CP Hotel for the players, coaches, executive, sponsors and fans where Mayor Jack (Spy) Ready – himself a standout defenceman, coach and referee – acted as official host.

The Charlottetown Armour Fence Islanders were inducted into the P.E.I. Sports Hall of Fame in 2015

Sourced from


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!