Word logo


741 screen shot 2019 03 18 at 7.15.07 pm.png thumb
Minnesota Whitecaps 2019 Isobel Cup Cham...
by PRESIDENT on March 18th, 2019
Minnesota Whitecaps Isobel Cup Champions 2019 Team Roster Kendall Coyne Schofield, Lee Stecklein, Julie Friend, Jonna Curtis, Chelsey Brodt Rosenthal, Winny Brodt B...
740 screen shot 2019 01 06 at 5.05.00 pm.png thumb
Suomi jääkiekko / Finland 2019 World Jun...
by PRESIDENT on January 5th, 2019
Suomi jääkiekko / Finland 2019 World Junior Ice Hockey Champions Team Roster   Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen, Filip Lindberg, Oskari Laaksonen, Toni Utunen, Urho Vaakana...
739 screen shot 2019 01 01 at 4.08.39 pm.png thumb
Kalevan Pallo / KalPa 2018 Spengler Cup ...
by PRESIDENT on January 1st, 2019
Kalevan Pallo / KalPa Koupio 2018 Spengler Cup Champions Team Roster  Denis Godla, Daniel Manzato, Mikael Seppälä, Joona Riekkinen, Ari Gröndahl, Cade Fairchild, Otto Les...
738 belgium red lions 2018.jpg thumb
Belgium Red Lions 2018 Men's Hockey Worl...
by PRESIDENT on December 16th, 2018
Belgium Red Lions 2018 Men's Hockey World Cup Champions Team Roster  Thomas Briels (captain), Loic van Doren, Arthur Van Doren, John-John Dohmen, Florent van Aubel, Sébas...
737 screen shot 2018 08 05 at 11.42.18 pm.png thumb
Netherlands Women Hockey Team 2018 FIH H...
by PRESIDENT on August 5th, 2018
Netherlands Women's National Field Hockey Team Koninklijke Nederlandse Hockey Bond 2018 FIH Hockey World Cup Champions Team Roster Anne Veenendaal, Sanne Koolen,...
736 toronto marlies 2018.jpg thumb
Toronto Marlies 2018 Calder Cup Champions
by PRESIDENT on June 15th, 2018
Toronto Marlies 2018 Calder Cup Champions Team Roster Ben Smith, Andreas Johnsson, Colin Greening, Vincent LoVerde, Trevor Moore, Carl Grundström, Kyle Baun, Adam Broo...
735 screen shot 2018 06 07 at 11.12.00 pm.png thumb
Washington Capitals 2018 Stanley Cup Cha...
by PRESIDENT on June 7th, 2018
Washington Capitals Stanley Cup Champions 2018 Team Roster Alexander Ovechkin, Nicklas Bäckström, Jay Beagle, Travis Boyd, Andre Burakovsky, Alex Chiasson, Brett Connol...
734 screen shot 2018 03 27 at 9.23.30 am.png thumb
Markham Thunder 2018 Clarkson Cup Champions
by PRESIDENT on March 26th, 2018
Markham Thunder 2018 Clarkson Cup Champions Team Roster Laura Stacey, Becca King, Kristen Richards, Laura McIntosh, Fielding Montgomery, Nicole Brown, Devon Skeats,...

Tre Kronor - Sweden Men's National Ice Hockey Team

2017 IIHF Ice Hockey World Champions

726 screen shot 2017 05 31 at 8.44.28 am.png normal

Team Roster

Gabriel Landeskog, Victor Hedman, William Karlsson, Linus Omark, Victor Rask, Carl Klingberg, Joakim Nordström, Henrik Lundqvist, Carl Söderberg, Eddie Läck, Viktor Fasth, William Nylander, Elias Lindholm, Jonas Brodin, Alexander Edler, Oliver Ekman-Larsson, Joel Eriksson Ek, Joel Lundqvist, Nicklas Bäckström, Dennis Everberg, Marcus Krüger, Oscar Lindberg, Anton Strålman, Philip Holm, John Klingberg

Head Coach - Rikard Gronborg

Assistant Coach -  Johan Garpenlov

​Assistant Coach - Peter Popovic

​Assistant Coach - Todd Christopher Woodcroft

General Manager - Tommy Boustedt

Underdogs Sweden were crowned world champions in dramatic fashion on Sunday, stunning Canada in a penalty shootout after the teams were locked at a 1-1 tie over 80 minutes.

The Swedes and Canadians went through a feeling-out process in the first period. Shots were 12-10 for Sweden after one period.

The first goal came when Victor Hedman threw a backhander through traffic and the puck bounced on the ice and slipped under Calvin Pickard with 20.8 seconds left in the second period.

The Canadians once again used their power play to get back into the game in the third with Elias Lindholm sent to the penalty box for high sticking at 1:48. It took just 10 seconds for O'Reilly to tie the game at 1-1 by flipping a Mitch Marner rebound over the right shoulder of Lundqvist. It was the first special-teams goal that Lundqvist had surrendered in five tournament games.

But instead of staging a comeback like the one that carried them past Russia in the semi-finals, Canada's hopes of a third successive world title were dashed by the determined Swedes, who kept the game tied through regulation.

Sweden had a slight edge in overtime by outshooting Canada 11-10. In the shootout, William Nylander was denied by Pickard, then Nathan MacKinnon couldn't slip his shot through Lundqvist's five-hole. Backstrom, Sweden's second shooter, beat Pickard low to the stick side before Brayden Point's attempt was snagged by Lundqvist's glove. Oliver Ekman-Larsson caught Pickard moving to put Sweden up 2-0, then Ryan O'Reilly was denied by Lundqvist. Pickard kept Canada alive by stopping his Colorado Avalanche teammate Gabriel Landeskog before Lundqvist stopped Marner to secure the gold for Sweden.

The win is Sweden’s first in four tries against Canada since the IIHF instituted the playoff system in 1992, and their first since 2013. Sweden stops Canada from being the first team to three-peat since the Czechs accomplished the feat between 1999 and 2001.

Earlier in the day, Russia defeated Finland 5-3 to capture its second consecutive bronze medal.


Gabriel Landeskog, Victor Hedman, William Karlsson, Linus Omark, Victor Rask, Carl Klingberg, Joakim Nordstrom, Henrik Lundqvist, Carl Soderberg, Eddie Lack, Viktor Fasth, William Nylander, Elias Lindholm, Jonas Brodin, Alexander Edler, Oliver EkmanLarsson, Joel Eriksson Ek, Joel Lundqvist, Nicklas Backstrom, Dennis Everberg, Marcus Kruger, Oscar Lindberg, Anton Stralman, Philip Holm, John Klingberg, Tommy Boustedt, Todd Christopher Woodcroft, Peter Popovic, Johan Garpenlov, Rikard Gronborg, SwedenMens National Ice Hockey Team 2017, 2017, 2017 IsHockey, 2017 ijshocky, 2017 IJshockey, 2017 Ice Hockey, 2017 Ice Hockey Champions, 2017 ijshockyer, 2017 Hokej, 2017 Hockey, 2017 Hockey Sur Glace, 2017 EisHockey, Tre Kronor, Tre Kronor 2017, 2017 Tre Kronor, Tre Kronor World Ice Hockey Champions


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!