Word logo


736 toronto marlies 2018.jpg thumb
Toronto Marlies 2018 Calder Cup Champions
by PRESIDENT on June 15th, 2018
Toronto Marlies 2018 Calder Cup Champions Team Roster Ben Smith, Andreas Johnsson, Colin Greening, Vincent LoVerde, Trevor Moore, Carl Grundström, Kyle Baun, Adam Broo...
735 screen shot 2018 06 07 at 11.12.00 pm.png thumb
Washington Capitals 2018 Stanley Cup Cha...
by PRESIDENT on June 7th, 2018
Washington Capitals Stanley Cup Champions 2018 Team Roster Alexander Ovechkin, Nicklas Bäckström, Jay Beagle, Travis Boyd, Andre Burakovsky, Alex Chiasson, Brett Connol...
734 screen shot 2018 03 27 at 9.23.30 am.png thumb
Markham Thunder 2018 Clarkson Cup Champions
by PRESIDENT on March 26th, 2018
Markham Thunder 2018 Clarkson Cup Champions Team Roster Laura Stacey, Becca King, Kristen Richards, Laura McIntosh, Fielding Montgomery, Nicole Brown, Devon Skeats,...
733 screen shot 2018 03 26 at 10.11.25 am.png thumb
Metropolitan Riveters 2018 Isobel Cup Ch...
by PRESIDENT on March 25th, 2018
Metropolitan Riveters 2018 Isobel Cup Champions   Team Roster Lauren Wash, Sarah Bryant, Courtney Burke, Tatiana Rafter, Rebecca Morse, Ashley Johnston, Kelsey K...
732 screen shot 2018 03 18 at 10.19.15 pm.png thumb
U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team 2018 Pa...
by PRESIDENT on March 18th, 2018
U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team 2018 Paralympics Para Ice Hockey Champions Team Roster Steve Cash, Kevin McKee, Brody Roybal, Declan Farmer (alternate captain), Jo...
731 screen shot 2018 02 26 at 12.25.35 pm.png thumb
OAR 2018 Winter Olympics Ice Hockey Gold...
by PRESIDENT on February 25th, 2018
OAR / Russian Ice Hockey Team 2018 Winter Olympics Gold Medal Champions Team Roster Pavel Datsyuk / Па́вел Дацю́к, Ilya Kovalchuk / Илья Ковальчук, Nikita Gusev / Никит...
730 screen shot 2018 02 25 at 9.00.52 pm.png thumb
U.S. Women's Hockey Team 2018 Olympic Go...
by PRESIDENT on February 23rd, 2018
United States Women's National Ice Hockey Team 2018 Winter Olympics Gold Medal Champions Team Roster Hilary Knight, Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson, Monique Lamoureux-Moran...
729 screen shot 2018 01 08 at 11.55.45 am.png thumb
Team Canada 2018 World Junior Ice Hockey...
by PRESIDENT on January 6th, 2018
Team Canada Men's National Junior Ice Hockey Team  2018 World Junior Ice Hockey Champions Team Roster  Robert Thomas, Jordan Kyrou, Alex Formenton, Sam Steel, Brett How...


The Sydney Ice Dogs are the 2013 AIHL Champions after a convincing 6-3 win over the Newcastle North Stars.


The two NSW sides – who opened the season with the very first 2013 game in April – went head-to-head in the grand-final before a sold out Medibank Icehouse after producing some dominating form in their respective semi-final matches on Saturday.

The grand-final game opened in typical fashion: tough and tight.

The tight competition was soon blown out of the water with Sydney’s Billy Cliff gaining the first goal of the night, one of six, with five minutes remaining in the period.

Todd Stephenson backed it up to see the Ice Dogs lead 2-0 headed into the second period.

A lone goal from Newcastle’s Dominic Osman in the second the period close 2-1.

Osman scored all three Newcastle goals.

Newcastle was hopeful of a comeback, however too much time spent in the penalty box and wayward passes and plays saw team come undone.

Anthony Kimlin, Sydney goaltender and Australia’s national man-between-the-pipes, also did not make it easy on the North Stars, living up to the “great wall of Kimlin” slogan he has gained this season.

At the opposite end Olivier Martin, Australia’s backup goaltender, while also tough, saw six goals slip his grasp.

Both the Ice Dogs and North Stars picked up their form in the final period, however it would count more for the Sydney side.

Two Simon Barg goals – delivered seconds apart – and one from Paul Baranzelli saw the Ice Dogs lead 6-1 with five minutes remaining in the game.

Osman closed the gap 6-3 but it was not enough to take the win away from the Ice Dogs, who have been searching for a championship for nine years.

Todd Stephenson notched 3, Simon Barg 2 and Billy Cliff with the goal of the year were the scorers for the Dogs as it topped off a incredible season for the Dogs.,

"We stuck to a disciplined game plan and played as a team, we came into the weekend in great form and hit top gear at the perfect time”, head coach Ron Kuprowsky commented.

"We had amazing efforts from every player on the team and it showed as the team performed at its best", he added.

The Ice Dogs last won an AIHL championship in 2004, winning 3-1 over the North Stars.

Team Roster

Simon Barg, Matt Puntereri, David Dunwoodie, Robert Malloy, Todd Stephenson, Billy Cliff, Scott Stephenson, Brian Funes, Shannon McGregor, Paddy Ward, Joel Rhodes, Tomas Manco, Richard Tesaric, Paul Baranzelli, Chris Sekura, Eric McKenna, Anthony Wilson, Tyler Kubara, Daniel Spina, Franki Vlasek, Alec Stephenson, Jamie Blazevic, Anthony Kimlin, Dylan Burgess


The eight-team semi-professional league was established in 2000 and allows a maximum six import players per club. The Goodall Cup is the world’s third-oldest senior national Hockey trophy still awarded, after the Stanley Cup and the Allan Cup.

AIHL Awards
League MVP: Jeff Martens, Newcastle North Stars
Australian Player of the Year: Anthony Kimlin, Sydney Ice Dogs
Finals MVP: Anthony Kimlin, Sydney Ice Dogs
Best Defenceman: John Gordon, Melbourne Ice
Best Rookie: Cameron Todd, Sydney Bears
Best Goaltender: Anthony Kimlin, Sydney Ice Dogs



Trophy, Australia, 2013, Champions, Melbourne, Goodall Cup, Australian Ice Hockey League, J E Goodall Cup, Ice Hockey, Ice Hockey Champions, AIHL, Sydney Ice Dogs, Newcastle North Stars, Medibank Icehouse, Simon Barg, Matt Puntereri, David Dunwoodie, Robert Malloy, Todd Stephenson, Billy Cliff, Scott Stephenson, Brian Funes, Shannon McGregor, Paddy Ward, Joel Rhodes, Tomas Manco, Richard Tesaric, Paul Baranzelli, Chris Sekura, Eric McKenna, Anthony Wilson, Tyler Kubara, Daniel Spina, Franki Vlasek, Alec Stephenson, Jamie Blazevic, Anthony Kimlin, Dylan Burgess, 2013 Goodall Cup Champions, 2013 Goodall Cup Winners, 2013 Australian Ice Hockey League Champions, 2013 Australian Ice Hockey League Winners


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!