Word logo


737 screen shot 2018 08 05 at 11.42.18 pm.png thumb
Netherlands Women Hockey Team 2018 FIH H...
by PRESIDENT on August 5th, 2018
Netherlands Women's National Field Hockey Team Koninklijke Nederlandse Hockey Bond 2018 FIH Hockey World Cup Champions Team Roster Anne Veenendaal, Sanne Koolen,...
736 toronto marlies 2018.jpg thumb
Toronto Marlies 2018 Calder Cup Champions
by PRESIDENT on June 15th, 2018
Toronto Marlies 2018 Calder Cup Champions Team Roster Ben Smith, Andreas Johnsson, Colin Greening, Vincent LoVerde, Trevor Moore, Carl Grundström, Kyle Baun, Adam Broo...
735 screen shot 2018 06 07 at 11.12.00 pm.png thumb
Washington Capitals 2018 Stanley Cup Cha...
by PRESIDENT on June 7th, 2018
Washington Capitals Stanley Cup Champions 2018 Team Roster Alexander Ovechkin, Nicklas Bäckström, Jay Beagle, Travis Boyd, Andre Burakovsky, Alex Chiasson, Brett Connol...
734 screen shot 2018 03 27 at 9.23.30 am.png thumb
Markham Thunder 2018 Clarkson Cup Champions
by PRESIDENT on March 26th, 2018
Markham Thunder 2018 Clarkson Cup Champions Team Roster Laura Stacey, Becca King, Kristen Richards, Laura McIntosh, Fielding Montgomery, Nicole Brown, Devon Skeats,...
733 screen shot 2018 03 26 at 10.11.25 am.png thumb
Metropolitan Riveters 2018 Isobel Cup Ch...
by PRESIDENT on March 25th, 2018
Metropolitan Riveters 2018 Isobel Cup Champions   Team Roster Lauren Wash, Sarah Bryant, Courtney Burke, Tatiana Rafter, Rebecca Morse, Ashley Johnston, Kelsey K...
732 screen shot 2018 03 18 at 10.19.15 pm.png thumb
U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team 2018 Pa...
by PRESIDENT on March 18th, 2018
U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team 2018 Paralympics Para Ice Hockey Champions Team Roster Steve Cash, Kevin McKee, Brody Roybal, Declan Farmer (alternate captain), Jo...
731 screen shot 2018 02 26 at 12.25.35 pm.png thumb
OAR 2018 Winter Olympics Ice Hockey Gold...
by PRESIDENT on February 25th, 2018
OAR / Russian Ice Hockey Team 2018 Winter Olympics Gold Medal Champions Team Roster Pavel Datsyuk / Па́вел Дацю́к, Ilya Kovalchuk / Илья Ковальчук, Nikita Gusev / Никит...
730 screen shot 2018 02 25 at 9.00.52 pm.png thumb
U.S. Women's Hockey Team 2018 Olympic Go...
by PRESIDENT on February 23rd, 2018
United States Women's National Ice Hockey Team 2018 Winter Olympics Gold Medal Champions Team Roster Hilary Knight, Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson, Monique Lamoureux-Moran...

Spengler Cup Champions 2015

Team Canada


Team Roster

Keith Aulie, Keaton Ellerby, Kris Foucault, Derek Roy, Alexandre Giroux, Kevin Clark, Trevor Carrick, Mark Cundari, Dan Paille, Matthew Lombardi, Cory Conacher, Manny Malhotra, Marc-André Bergeron, Cory Emmerton, Tom Pyatt, Matt D’Agostini, Aaron Johnson, Alexandre Picard, Daniel Vukovic, Matt Ellison, James Sheppard, Chris DiDomenico, Drew MacIntyre, Matt Climie, Jeff Glass

Head Coach - Guy Boucher

Assistant Coach - Serge Pelletier

Assistant Coach - Rob Cookson

Matt D’Agostini (Sault Ste. Marie, Ont./Genève-Servette HC, SUI) broke open a tie game with 11:47 to go, leading Canada’s National Men’s Team to a 4-3 win over HC Lugano and a 13th Spengler Cup championship on Thursday.

It’s the first time Canada has won the tournament since 2012, and the first time it’s been perfect since 2007.

Just over three minutes after Lugano had tied the game, D’Agostini took a feed from Aaron Johnson (Port Hawkesbury, N.S./Stockton, AHL) and hammered a one-timer through goaltender Elvis Merzlikins.

Keaton Ellerby (Strathmore, Alta./Barys Astana, KHL), Derek Roy (Rockland, Ont./SC Bern, SUI) and Tom Pyatt (Thunder Bay, Ont./Genève-Servette HC, SUI) had the other goals for Canada, and Chris DiDomenico (Woodbridge, Ont./SCL Tigers, SUI) added two assists.

Jeff Glass (Calgary, Alta./Dinamo Minsk, KHL) rebounded well after getting pulled in Canada’s semifinal win over HC Davos on Wednesday, making 31 saves to record the win.

It was the Swiss side that struck first when Gregory Hofmann beat Glass to the post on a wraparound just shy of the nine-minute mark, but Ellerby’s blast from the point tied the game seven minutes later.

Both teams ramped up the offence in the second period, combining for 31 shots on goal.

Roy gave Canada its first lead at 3:27, knocking in the rebound of a Cory Conacher (Burlington, Ont./SC Bern, SUI) shot, and Pyatt finished off a terrific set-up from DiDomenico at 5:00 to push the advantage to 3-1.

HC Lugano got one back before the end of the second period when Alessandro Chiesa went five-hole on Glass on a power play, and Hofmann’s second goal five minutes into the third tied the game and led to D’Agostini’s game-winner only a few minutes later.

Three players – Pyatt, captain Matthew Lombardi (Montreal, Que./Genève-Servette HC, SUI), and Daniel Vukovic (North York, Ont./Genève-Servette HC, SUI) – lifted the Spengler Cup for the second year in a row with a different team, having won the tournament last year with Genève-Servette HC; for Lombardi and Vukovic it’s a third-straight title after winning with Genève-Servette in 2013, as well.

Canada has reached the final 22 times since making its first appearance at the invitational tournament in 1984.

The win caps off an impressive calendar year for Canada’s men’s teams in international competition; 2015 included gold at the IIHF World Junior Championship, IIHF World Championship, U18 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup, World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, World Junior A Challenge, and Spengler Cup.

Original story by Jason La Rose at http://www.hockeycanada.ca

Spengler Cup, Spengler Cup Champions, 2015 Team Canada, 2015 Spengler Cup, Spengler Cup Champions 2015, Spengler Cup Team Canada, 2015, Keaton Ellerby, Matt Climie, Manny Malhotra, Alexandre Giroux, Tom Pyatt, Aaron Johnson, James Sheppard, Alexandre Picard, Derek Roy, Matthew Lombardi, Matt Dagostini, Vaillant Arena, Cory Conacher, Spengler Cup History, Daniel Vukovic, Vaillant Arena History, 2015 EisHockey, 2015 IsHockey, 2015 Hockey, 2015 Ice Hockey, 2015 Ice Hockey Champions, 2015 Hockey Champions, 2015 Hokej, 2015 Hockey Sur Glace, Keith Aulie, Kris Foucault, Kevin Clark, Trevor Carrick, Mark Cundari, Dan Paille, MarcAndre Bergeron, Cory Emmerton, Matt Ellison, Chris DiDomenico, Drew MacIntyre, Jeff Glass, Canadas National Mens Hockey Team, 2015 Canadas National Mens Hockey Team, Guy Boucher, Serge Pelletier, 89th Spengler Cup, Rob Cookson


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!