Word logo


740 screen shot 2019 01 06 at 5.05.00 pm.png thumb
Suomi jääkiekko / Finland 2019 World Jun...
by PRESIDENT on January 5th, 2019
Suomi jääkiekko / Finland 2019 World Junior Ice Hockey Champions Team Roster   Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen, Filip Lindberg, Oskari Laaksonen, Toni Utunen, Urho Vaakana...
739 screen shot 2019 01 01 at 4.08.39 pm.png thumb
Kalevan Pallo / KalPa 2018 Spengler Cup ...
by PRESIDENT on January 1st, 2019
Kalevan Pallo / KalPa Koupio 2018 Spengler Cup Champions Team Roster  Denis Godla, Daniel Manzato, Mikael Seppälä, Joona Riekkinen, Ari Gröndahl, Cade Fairchild, Otto Les...
738 belgium red lions 2018.jpg thumb
Belgium Red Lions 2018 Men's Hockey Worl...
by PRESIDENT on December 16th, 2018
Belgium Red Lions 2018 Men's Hockey World Cup Champions Team Roster  Thomas Briels (captain), Loic van Doren, Arthur Van Doren, John-John Dohmen, Florent van Aubel, Sébas...
737 screen shot 2018 08 05 at 11.42.18 pm.png thumb
Netherlands Women Hockey Team 2018 FIH H...
by PRESIDENT on August 5th, 2018
Netherlands Women's National Field Hockey Team Koninklijke Nederlandse Hockey Bond 2018 FIH Hockey World Cup Champions Team Roster Anne Veenendaal, Sanne Koolen,...
736 toronto marlies 2018.jpg thumb
Toronto Marlies 2018 Calder Cup Champions
by PRESIDENT on June 15th, 2018
Toronto Marlies 2018 Calder Cup Champions Team Roster Ben Smith, Andreas Johnsson, Colin Greening, Vincent LoVerde, Trevor Moore, Carl Grundström, Kyle Baun, Adam Broo...
735 screen shot 2018 06 07 at 11.12.00 pm.png thumb
Washington Capitals 2018 Stanley Cup Cha...
by PRESIDENT on June 7th, 2018
Washington Capitals Stanley Cup Champions 2018 Team Roster Alexander Ovechkin, Nicklas Bäckström, Jay Beagle, Travis Boyd, Andre Burakovsky, Alex Chiasson, Brett Connol...
734 screen shot 2018 03 27 at 9.23.30 am.png thumb
Markham Thunder 2018 Clarkson Cup Champions
by PRESIDENT on March 26th, 2018
Markham Thunder 2018 Clarkson Cup Champions Team Roster Laura Stacey, Becca King, Kristen Richards, Laura McIntosh, Fielding Montgomery, Nicole Brown, Devon Skeats,...
733 screen shot 2018 03 26 at 10.11.25 am.png thumb
Metropolitan Riveters 2018 Isobel Cup Ch...
by PRESIDENT on March 25th, 2018
Metropolitan Riveters 2018 Isobel Cup Champions   Team Roster Lauren Wash, Sarah Bryant, Courtney Burke, Tatiana Rafter, Rebecca Morse, Ashley Johnston, Kelsey K...

Manchester Monarchs

Calder Cup Champions & AHL Champions 2015


Team Roster

Justin Auger, Sean Backman, Paul Bissonnette, Andrew Bodnarchuk, Andrew Crescenzi, Nic Dowd, Nick Ebert, Derek Forbort, Josh Gratton, Kevin Gravel, Ryan Horvat, Adrian Kempe, Vincent LoVerde, Michael Mersch, Colin Miller, Zach O'Brien, Brian O'Neill, Kevin Raine, Jeff Schultz, Nick Shore, David Van der Gulik, Jordan Weal, Patrik Bartosak (G), Jean-Francois Berube (G)

The Manchester Monarchs ended their 14-year tenure in the American Hockey League on the highest of notes, capturing their first Calder Cup championship on Saturday night with a 2-1 win over the Utica Comets. 

The Monarchs took the series, four games to one, to complete a memorable final season in Manchester. The Los Angeles Kings’ top affiliate will play in Ontario, Calif., beginning in the fall. 

The Monarchs won the Cup after also finishing first overall during the regular season. Under head coach Mike Stothers, Manchester went 50-17-6-3 (109 points) in 2014-15 and eliminated the Portland Pirates (3-2), the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (4-1) and the Hartford Wolf Pack (4-0) before defeating Utica in the Finals. 

Jordan Weal, a Second Team AHL All-Star during the regular season, captured the Jack A. Butterfield Trophy as the MVP in the Calder Cup Playoffs after totaling 10 goals and 12 assists for a league-best 22 points, along with a plus-12 rating, in 19 playoff games. The 23-year old Weal was a third-round selection by Los Angeles in the 2010 NHL Entry Draft. 

In Game 5, Adrian Kempe and Vincent LoVerde scored goals 3:07 apart midway through the first period to grab a 2-0 lead, and Patrik Bartosak and the Monarchs defense made the lead stand up the rest of the way. 

Bartosak, who made his first career playoff start in Game 4, finished with 31 saves on the night, allowing only a single goal to Cal O'Reilly with 14.8 seconds left in regulation. 

The game was played before another capacity crowd at the Utica Memorial Auditorium (3,835), the 13th sellout of the playoffs and 40th overall this season for the Comets. 

Manchester’s victory brings an end to the AHL’s 79th season. In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates, and this season marked the 14th consecutive year in which more than 6 million fans attended AHL games across North America.

2015 Calder Cup Finals – Series “O” (best-of-7)
E1-Manchester Monarchs vs. W1-Utica Comets
Game 1 – Sat., June 6 – MANCHESTER 3, Utica 2 (OT) | Recap/highlights
Game 2 – Sun., June 7 – MANCHESTER 2, Utica 1 (OT) | Recap/highlights
Game 3 – Wed., June 10 – UTICA 3, Manchester 2 | Recap/highlights
Game 4 – Fri., June 12 – Manchester 6, UTICA 3 | Recap/highlights 
Game 5 – Sat., June 13 – Manchester 2, UTICA 1

Calder Cup, American Hockey League, American Hockey League Champions, Calder Cup Champions, American Hockey League History, AHL Champions, Manchester Monarchs, Manchester Monarchs History, 2015 Manchester Monarchs, Manchester Monarchs Calder Cup Champions, Manchester Monarchs Calder Cup Winners, Calder Cup 2015, 2015 Calder Cup, 2015 AHL Champions, 2015 American Hockey League, 2015 American Hockey League Champions, 2015 American Hockey League Winners, 2015, Jeff Schultz, Andrew Bodnarchuk, Paul Bissonnette, Nick Ebert, Ryan Horvat, Justin Auger, JeanFrancois Berube, 2015 EisHockey, 2015 IsHockey, 2015 Hockey, 2015 Ice Hockey, 2015 Ice Hockey Champions, 2015 Hockey Champions, 2015 Hokej, 2015 Hockey Sur Glace, Sean Backman, Andrew Crescenzi, Nic Dowd, Derek Forbort, Josh Gratton, Kevin Gravel, Adrian Kempe, Vincent LoVerde, Michael Mersch, Colin Miller, Zach OBrien, Brian ONeill, Kevin Raine, Nick Shore, David Van der Gulik, Jordan Weal, Patrik Bartosak


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!