Word logo


747 screen shot 2019 05 30 at 7.00.01 pm.png thumb
Team Finland / Suomi Leijonat 2019 World...
by PRESIDENT on May 27th, 2019
Team Finland / Suomi Leijonat IIHF World Champions / World Ice Hockey Champions 2019 Team Roster  Marko Anttila, Mikko Lehtonen, Oliwer Kaski, Arttu Ilomäki, Veli-Matti...
746 screen shot 2019 05 27 at 3.58.33 pm.png thumb
Rouyn-Noranda Huskies 2019 Memorial Cup ...
by PRESIDENT on May 26th, 2019
Rouyn-Noranda Huskies  Memorial Cup Champions 2019 Team Roster  Peter Abbandonato, Joël Teasdale, Jakub Lauko, Félix Bibeau, Noah Dobson, Rafaël Harvey-Pinard, Louis-Fi...
745 screen shot 2019 04 17 at 10.38.32 pm.png thumb
HC '05 Banská Bystrica 2019 Tipsport Lig...
by PRESIDENT on April 17th, 2019
HC '05 Banská Bystrica  Tipsport Liga Champions 2019 Slovenská Extraliga Team Roster  Martin Nemčík, Vladimír Mihalik, Ivan Ďatelinka, Ben Marshall, Branislav Kubka, Ryan...
743 screen shot 2019 04 14 at 9.46.05 pm.png thumb
U.S. Women's National Team 2019 IIHF Wor...
by PRESIDENT on April 14th, 2019
U.S. Women's National Team IIHF World Ice Hockey Champions 2019 Team Roster Lee Stecklein, Cayla Barnes, Megan Keller, Emily Pfalzer, Megan Bozek, Kelly Pannek, Briann...
744 screen shot 2019 04 16 at 10.56.10 am.png thumb
HC Donbass / ХК Донбас 2019 Ukrainian Ho...
by PRESIDENT on April 14th, 2019
HC Donbass / ХК Донбас Ukrainian Hockey League / UHL Champions 2019 Team Roster Vitali Lyalka, Ilya Korenchuk, Viktor Zakharov, Alexander Kostikov, Vitaly Kiryuschenkov...
742 screen shot 2019 03 24 at 6.29.00 pm.png thumb
Calgary Inferno 2019 Clarkson Cup Champions
by PRESIDENT on March 24th, 2019
Calgary Inferno 2019 Clarkson Cup Champions Team Roster Zoe Hickel, Kelty Apperso, Brianna Decker, Laura Dostaler, Venla Hovi, Brianne Jenner, Rebecca Johnston, Erica ...
741 screen shot 2019 03 18 at 7.15.07 pm.png thumb
Minnesota Whitecaps 2019 Isobel Cup Cham...
by PRESIDENT on March 18th, 2019
Minnesota Whitecaps Isobel Cup Champions 2019 Team Roster Kendall Coyne Schofield, Lee Stecklein, Julie Friend, Jonna Curtis, Chelsey Brodt Rosenthal, Winny Brodt B...
740 screen shot 2019 01 06 at 5.05.00 pm.png thumb
Suomi jääkiekko / Finland 2019 World Jun...
by PRESIDENT on January 5th, 2019
Suomi jääkiekko / Finland 2019 World Junior Ice Hockey Champions Team Roster   Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen, Filip Lindberg, Oskari Laaksonen, Toni Utunen, Urho Vaakana...



MALACCA: Malaysia won their maiden Junior Asia Cup when they defeated three-time champions Pakistan 2-1 in a tense and thrilling final at the Bukit Serendit Hockey Stadium yesterday.

The team, tagged as favourites for the tournament, lived up to their billing and two goals in the first half did the trick as they defended stoutly in the second half to keep Pakistan at bay.

Even before the start, the atmosphere at the stadium was electrifying as 7,500 fans packed the stands to the brim well before the 8.00pm start. Hundreds more were not able to get in.

The Malaysians played liked men possessed in the first half but turned into a timid mouse in the second half. Still credit must be given for their tenacity to withstand the Pakistan onslaught.

Malaysia’s coach K. Dharmaraj said winning the title was the best thing to happen for Malaysian hockey and he hopes it is the start of better things to come for the sport in the country.

“I am very proud of my players as they fought hard for the title. This is a grand occasion for Malaysian hockey and we dedicate it to the fans who have stood by the team through thick and thin.

“There were some tense moments but we managed to keep our cool in the end,” said Dharmaraj.

Malaysia, cheered on by the vociferous fans, started off with a bang and two minutes into the game scored the opening goal.

It came from a quick counter attack which resulted in a penalty corner. Faisal Saari, who was also on target in the semi-final against India, sent his drag flick past goalkeeper Mazhar Abbas into the net.

The goal spurred the players on and they kept attacking the Pakistan goal but were denied on several occasions by their opponents.

Pakistan nearly drew level in the 12th minute when Mohamed Irfan took a snap shot from the semi–circle but Malaysian custodian Mohamed Hazrul Faiz Ahmad Sobri pulled off a brilliant save.

Firhan Ashaari could have doubled the advantage in the 16th minute as he broke through the centre but his attempt was well read by Mazhar.

But there was no denying the goal-hungry Malaysians as Mohd Syamim Mohd Yusof made it 2-0 in the 18th minute to leave Pakistan shell-shocked.

Malaysia was guilty of overdoing things after the second goal and this allowed Pakistan’s trio of Irfan, Mohamed Suleman and Mohamed Dilber to string together several attacking moves.

But good defending by Kavin Kartik and skipper Mohd Noor Faeez Ibrahim kept them at bay.

A minute before half-time Pakistan was awarded their first penalty corner. But Muhammad Tousiq sent his attempt sailing over the bar.

The second half saw Pakistan launching wave after wave of attacks and they were rewarded for their efforts in the 42nd minute when Irfan slotted home from close range to reduce the deficit.

Now it was Malaysia’s turn to back-pedal as Pakistan came charging at them in their search for the equaliser.

Several times Malaysia were desperately clearing the ball away from the danger zone.

A free-for-all almost erupted in the heat of the game in the 67th minute. And in the ensuing melee Malaysia’s Mohamed Syamin and Pakistan’s Mohamed Khalid were yellow carded.

Still, it was Pakistan doing all the attacking but the determined Malaysians held on to win their first Junior Asia Cup.

Earlier, India took third place after extra time. The score at regulation time stood at 1-1. But the Indians prevailed through a golden goal scored by Akashdeep Singh in the 80th minute to beat South Korea 2-1.

Article 1st Published at http://www.malaysiahockey.com

Malaysia also grabbed the lion's share of honours as Kavin Kartik was named as Man of the Final while the top scorer's award was shared by Korea's Yang Jihun and Faizal Saari with six goals each. Malaysia's Hazrul Faiz was the Best Goalkeeper as well as Player of the Tournament.




2012, Field Hockey, Malaysia, Junior Asia Cup, MBM Stadium, Malacca, Hazrul Faiz, Bukit Serendit Hockey Stadium


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!