Word logo


729 screen shot 2018 01 08 at 11.55.45 am.png thumb
Team Canada 2018 World Junior Ice Hockey...
by PRESIDENT on January 6th, 2018
Team Canada Men's National Junior Ice Hockey Team  2018 World Junior Ice Hockey Champions Team Roster  Robert Thomas, Jordan Kyrou, Alex Formenton, Sam Steel, Brett How...
727 screen shot 2017 06 01 at 9.33.54 am.png thumb
Windsor Spitfires 2017 Memorial Cup Cham...
by PRESIDENT on May 30th, 2017
Windsor Spitfires 2017 Memorial Cup Champions Team Roster Tyler Angle, Jeremiah Addison, Gabriel Vilardi, Chris Playfair, Adam Laishram, Logan Brown, Julius Nattinen, ...
726 screen shot 2017 05 31 at 8.44.28 am.png thumb
Tre Kronor - Team Sweden 2017 IIHF Ice ...
by PRESIDENT on May 22nd, 2017
Tre Kronor - Sweden Men's National Ice Hockey Team 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey World Champions Team Roster Gabriel Landeskog, Victor Hedman, William Karlsson, Linus Omark,...
725 screen shot 2017 05 07 at 10.46.40 pm.png thumb
Great Britain Men's Field Hockey Sultan ...
by PRESIDENT on May 7th, 2017
Great Britain Men's Field Hockey  Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Champions 2017 Team Roster  Harry Gibson (GK), Ollie Willars, Henry Weir, Ian Sloan (C), Brendan Creed, Dan Kyri...
723 denver pioneers 2017.jpg thumb
Denver Pioneers Crowned 2017 NCAA Divisi...
by PRESIDENT on April 9th, 2017
Denver Pioneers Men's Ice Hockey Team / University of Denver 2017 NCAA Division 1 Champions Team Roster Tanner Jaillet, Jarid Lukosevicius, Troy Terry, Dylan Gambre...
721 screen shot 2017 04 09 at 8.36.51 am.png thumb
USA Woman Crowned World Ice Hockey Champ...
by PRESIDENT on April 8th, 2017
U.S. Women’s National Ice Hockey Team 2017 World Ice Hockey Champions Team Roster Nicole Hensley, Alex Rigsby, Monique Lamoureux, Kacey Bellamy, Brianna Decker, Hilary ...
720 screen shot 2017 03 06 at 8.44.32 am.png thumb
Les Canadiennes de Montréal 2017 Clarkso...
by PRESIDENT on March 6th, 2017
Les Canadiennes de Montréal Clarkson Cup Champions 2017 Championnnes de le Coupe Clarkson Team Roster Kim Deschenes, Noémie Marin, Alyssa Sherrard, Caroline Oue...
719 screen shot 2017 01 06 at 6.37.30 am.png thumb
USA Hockey 2017 IIHF World Junior Hockey...
by PRESIDENT on January 6th, 2017
USA Hockey Men's Junior National Team IIHF World Junior Hockey Champions 2017 Team Roster Team Roster  Ryan Lindgren, Jack Ahcan, Caleb Jones, Casey Fitzgerald, Ad...

For the second time in five years, the Bentley Generals have won the Allan Cup, this time In front of thousands of their screaming hometown fans, claiming Canada’s 105th National Senior Championship with a 3-0 victory over the Clarenville Caribous in the championship game at Red Deer Arena.

The Allan Cup is one of the oldest club-team Hockey competitions in North America, having been first competed for in 1908. Only once in the past 106 years, in 1945, has an Allan Cup champion not been crowned.

Chris Neiszner broke a scoreless tie 14 minutes into the second period, Scott Doucet doubled the lead four minutes later and Keenan Desmet rounded out the scoring in the third as Bentley became the fifth host team in the last decade to win the national championship. Dan Bakala stopped all 35 shots he faced for the first championship game shutout since 2004.

The Generals, who appeared in the final for the fifth time in the last six years, went through the tournament undefeated, beating the Rosetown Redwings 2-0 and Kenora Thistles 5-2 in preliminary round play before a 3-2 win over Kenora in Friday’s semifinal.

Bentley won the Allan Cup in 2009, and lost in the championship game in 2008, 2010 and 2011. With the win, the Generals became the first Alberta team in the 104-year history of the tournament win multiple Allan Cup championships.

“It’s a fairy tale right now,” said captain Sean Robertson. “Awesome to do it at home. I’m kind of speechless right now.”

A huge part of the Generals, march toward history was their goaltender and tournament MVP, Dan Bakala.

“He was great,” said head coach, Brandin Cote, “To win a championship you always need good goaltending and he made key saves when he needed to and it’s pretty special to have a guy like that in our lineup.”

Bakala who started and won all four of the Generals’ games, recorded two shutouts, had a miniscule 1.00 GAA, and even scored a goal, could not believe his week.

“It’s a little surreal,” said Bakala. “It’s hard to explain, I’m still looking back on it.”

The win was a dominating display of the aggressive forecheck and cycle game the Generals have showcased all season, but this may have been their most complete effort.

“I think we saved our best game for last,” said Robertson. “We haven’t played a game like that all year.”

He wasn’t going to find any disagreement from his coach.

“We played a perfect game to be honest with you. The guys battled, we willed it, we just wanted it more. We just got it done at the end of the day, it’s awesome,” said Cote.

As the minutes and seconds ticked down, Robertson a member of the both 2009 championship team and the 2011 team that lost to the Caribous, could barely watch.

“I was down in the tunnel, I had to bury my head. You try not to think about it, but you have to. “

Though he claimed he was speechless, Robertson also may have described the championship feeling better than anyone else in history.

“This is something special, these are awesome human beings, I wouldn’t trade anyone of them,” he said. “You don’t know if you do it. It’s like when you set out for a goal and it means something, but when you accomplish it with good people who you need and help you along the way. You don’t drink this feeling.”

In 1999 the Bentley Generals Senior Hockey Club was formed by group of five individuals who had small dreams with an even smaller budget.
What began as an idea for a few of Bentley’s born and raised to resurrect a once proud local senior hockey team and play together again has grown to be one of the strongest and most successful senior AAA hockey clubs in Canada.
The growth and success that we as an organization have experienced can be attributed to many things but the basic strength of this club is the people within it.
We are blessed to have a large and dedicated contingent of volunteers whose common goal is to do whatever it takes to keep this team going season after season.
Trophy, Champions, Allan Cup, Allan Cup Champions, Bentley Generals, Sir Hugh Montagu Allan, Ice Hockey, 2013 Allan Cup Champions, Allan Cup Champions 2013, Trent Hunter, Scott Doucet, Brett Robertson, Keenan Desmet, Curtis Austring, Dustin Sproat, Sean Robertson, Matt Stefanishion, Jason Lundmark, Scott Kalinchuk, Jeremy Colliton, Chris Neiszner, Dan Bakala, Randall Gelech, Don Morrison, Brett Thurston, Travis Brigley, Matt Kinch, Joe Vandermeer, Kyle Sheen, Travis Dunstall


No comments have been made yet.


Please login to comment. Click here to sign up. It's quick, easy and free!